Looking for someone to help with fixing my house in fun neighborhood near the lake Chicago

Country

United States

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    280

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Julia and I live in a 2 bedroom condo in Chicago, near Lake Michigan. I love living in Chicago and taking in all the cultural offerings of the city but I also like to get out into nature to hike, bike and kayak. I'm an avid (and fast) walker. I also enjoy reading, cooking and traveling. Professionally I have worked on a variety of social justice issues and used to work in international development where I met people from all over the world.

    I've been doing workaway for a while, and now all my "odds and ends" jobs have been done. At this point I am ONLY looking for an experienced handyman/woman, or someone with experience, or someone who has (lots of) experience refinishing wood floors as I have a wall that needs to be repaired, painting that needs to be done and a floor that needs to be refinished.

    I have a lot of hosting experience. I host through this site and others. I love hosting travelers - I believe we are all travelers - and enjoy meeting and learning about new people, cultures and experiences and helping people on their way.

    I hope to meet you soon!

    Julia

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers here will experience life in the third largest city in the U.S. and be able to take in numerous cultural activities around the city as well as the beauty of Lake Michigan and numerous parks and outdoor spaces. I love showing off Chicago so I'm happy to show people around if schedules works out. I can also make recommendations on places to go and things to see. I like cooking with others so would enjoy making a meal together.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a small area of wood flooring that needs to be refinished, and several walls that need repair and repainting. Hoping to find someone skilled in these areas of work. I also have a bookcase to be refinished and a couple small pieces of furniture that I would either like to refinish or paint.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live simply but comfortably. You will have your own bedroom and share the one bathroom, living room, kitchen and dining area. The bedroom has a queen size air mattress on a platform bed frame. I can host a couple who want to share the bed. I have a second air mattress in the event two people are OK sharing the room together.

    I do not have central air conditioning. The only a/c unit is in the bedroom that you would be in. If it's hot out, my place can get kind of toasty but with shades drawn and fans on it usually remains comfortable. There is a washer/dryer in my unit that you can use. I don't have a microwave. I have a TV that I pull out when I want to watch it - you are welcome to use it as well.

    My condo building has 13 units and travellers need to be respectful of my neighbors. Absolutely no loud music. There is no smoking inside my place or on the back deck. I share my deck space with my neighbors and they have first priority to its use over visitors but my neighbors are very friendly and I'm sure you will have access to enjoy a meal on the deck during your stay.

    I'm vegetarian but travelers are welcome to have meat in my home. I will provide food for breakfast, lunch and dinner for every day a traveler is with me. I welcome special requests but cannot accommodate high-end food preferences (like steak every night). I can't promise to cook every meal but food will be available for you to prepare for yourself when I'm not available to cook.

    I've been an online rental host and my reviews mention how comfortable my home is and its great location.

    If you are interested in exploring Chicago this is a great place to be. I look forward to meeting you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in a fun neighborhood that is close to lake Michigan and lots of shops, restaurants, bars, parks, and theaters. I'm about 9 miles north of downtown and that is easily accessibly by public transportation - it's about a 45 minutes commute door to door. My neighborhood is ethnically diverse and almost every kind of food is available within a few block radius. I'm near great public transportation options. Summer is a wonderful time to come to Chicago as there is a lot of free outdoor music, movies and theater. But in any season there is plenty to do and see.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 125395753395