Experience a small slice of American Suburban Life, delaware USA

Country

United States

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello potential workawayers!!

    Thanks for checking us out as possible hosts. My name is Hillary (36), my husband is Jon (37) and we live in Wilmington, Delaware.

    We have been hosts on workaway for a little over 2 years but we actually met because of workaway 4 years ago. :) a true fairy tale, whirlwind romance. I was workawaying at a lovely bed and breakfast in Deadwood, South Dakota and my husband was a guest there while he did a cross country motor cycle trip. He invited me on a 2 week camping trip in Montana and by the end we knew we wanted to be together.

    Fast forward almost 5 years, we are happily married, living in a cozy mid-century modern home in an awesome neighbourhood in North Wilmington, Delaware. Jon works as a pipe-fitter in the local union. I walk dogs and am a housewife. We absolutely love living in Delaware- it's so close to so many large cultural centers but suburban enough to feel special.

    Our availability:

    With everything that we have going on we have decided to do shorter workawayer stays- 2 weeks is our preference. If a two week or less stay interests you Please let us know when ur available and we can begin to see if we are a good fit!!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How u may benefit from choosing us:
    A chance to experience a small slice of American Suburban Life. We love our life and imagine any workerawayer enjoying it as well. During a typical spring/summer/ fall week you will find us patio dining with friends and neighbors, spending evenings BBQing at the pool or tending the garden, riding our bikes in the neighborhood or local parks. We play on a couple softball teams, Jon plays in a cornhole league, disc golf and in a neighborhood game night. Our weekends are filled with bonfires, day trips to the Delaware beaches and state parks, floating the river, playing at the pool during the day and whiling the night away with good friends. We love escape rooms and fostering pregnant mom cats and their litters of kittens for the local humane society. We also like working around the house and just relaxing on the couch or hammock.

    We are very chill people and do things at our own pace. Some might call us home bodies and that's fine by us. We love each other and spending time at our house and in our neighbourhood. U won't find us clubbing and we aren't be big bar people but we do love a nice glass of wine after work and a cooler of beer at the pool.

    We are not especially exciting people but that's how we like it. Our life is exactly what we want it to be and to us it is perfection.

  • Help

    Help

    What we are looking for:
    At this time we are looking for some help with some larger projects we want to get done this spring. It’s a big plus If you are super handy, have some construction skills and have an eye for detail as I’m a bit OCD.
    Spring clean up:
    We have a large yard and a few small and large projects that we hope to complete
    -raking
    -power washing
    - window washing
    -deep cleaning
    Projects:
    - installing a new deck
    - revamping existing garden beds
    - re-doing the front walk
    - community garden improvements and general up keep

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    What we offer:
    A large, nicely appointed private room
    - king bed
    - sheets, blankets, pillows, towels, etc
    - dresser and 2 night stands
    - closet
    - large T.V. with Roku and access to all our stations including netflicks and amazon prime
    Full private bath
    Access to our house and yard
    Laundry room
    Family Meals
    - nightly family dinners
    - take out
    - eating out/ restaurants
    - self prepared
    - special dietary needs can be accommodated
    Some access to a car
    Close public transport ( rides to the train station)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In ur downtime:
    A great thing about Wilmington is it's proximity to many cultural and social hubs. The philly airport is 20 minutes away. The Amtrak station is 10mins away and offers endless possibilities up and down the east coast. U will have the freedom to set ur own schedule and weekends are always yours to do with as u please.

    Cities
    Philadelphia- 30 minutes away
    Washington D.C.- 2.5 hours away
    New York City- 2.5 hours
    Not to mention all the great outdoor activities.
    States parks
    National parks and historical sites
    Beaches
    Rivers

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our kitty Bob!! We offer also foster mama cats and kittens!
Working in the garden with the neighbors and their son
The beginning of our community garden
My hubby, Jon
Cape may summer '16
Easter '17
Building some shelves
New year eve '16
Our house
Me




Host ref number: 124923533587