Rocky Mountain Ranch life in the Robson vally, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 273 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We raise cattle and grow hay. Our farm is in the Robson Valley, 4 km from the small town of McBride in B. C. pop 600. It is a farming valley between the Rocky Mountains and the Cariboo Mountains. The scenery is beautiful. We are 1100 km from Jasper and 50 km from Mt. Robson. We have a few horses, one which needs more training., a donkey trained to pull a buggy. We are training a horse to pull in harness as well. We have two big friendly dogs. There is lots of Alpine hiking, mountain bike trails and trail riding near by. Our daughter and son and their families live very close by.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They would learn the values of a family farm lifestyle with lots of oppurtunity for adventure. Meeting other work awayers in the area that have come from anywhere in the world. They will enjoy living close to nature and wildlife away from the busy city life. The Rocky Mountain scenery is second to none.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteering hours could be fairly flexible averageing no more than 4 hours a day. Days off when required. When we are busy with hay, longer hours would be an option with agreed upon wages. Work would include exercising saddle horses, fence building and maintenance, getting winter fire wood, some helping in the garden and greenhouse, some working in the workshop if you are so inclined. Haying starts about July 1st. Help then would be mostly tractor driving if you are comfortable with that.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation would be in a cabin, 4 m x 8 m. in the trees , by the creek, a ten minute walk from our house and yard. You can use an ATV if you like. No power, but cabin has 12 volt lighting, out house, very quiet and private. We provide good food, you do your own shopping. You make your own meals but we are happy to share some meals as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No smoking , . Our lifestyle is pretty relaxed and there is no need for recreational drugs so they are not welcome. There is lots of oppurtunity for adventure and fun. There will be other workawayers in the area. We have a "back country riding club" that do mountain trail rides and improve trails. We have bikes, canoe, atv. Road access to Alpine on both sides of the valley. We have a very good paragliding launch site in the Alpine with very good access.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    ave. 4 hrs a day 5 days a week but flexible

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 123978145226