Take care of animals and maintenance in the kitchen garden (which provide food to the family) in Fjärås, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our mid 40's two years Ago bought our farm. A lot happened during the first year and more is to happen.
    We are restoring a 4 hectar land from forest to padock enclosures for horses, sheep and eventual pigs. The work has started but it is a five year project and the biggest thing this year would be to put up all the fences and clear the ground from wood.

    If you like to participate in helping on a small farm with horses, sheep, dog and cats this is your place. Other work on the farm is to help with the animals and the kitchen garden. Some house work. If you are interersted in old architecture and old ways to do things we are happy to meet you.

    The area we live in is a very old place where people have been living and travelled at for a very long time. We have ancient remains on our land and the house we are living in was probably originally build in the 16th century. Both of us are very fond of old techniques like how to build a wood house or how to take care of the wool of the sheep. So if you have a passion to do traditional work you are more than welcome to give suggestions on your preferences.

    We mainly work on the farm on our "spare time" due to that we also work on our full time work (IT-technician and Horse Farrier) so there will be some times where you need to work on your own.

    Just outside we have a lake where we swim and bath in the summer evenings.

    Hope to see you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Swedish traditions on farming and cultural events. Gardening. Old techniques for building and take care of products from the farm.

    Bus is passing a few times a day. The nearest city Kungsbacka is about 30 min away by car. About 45 min to Gothenburg. Driving licens is beneficial and if possible own car should be brought. Hiking in the forest. Swimming. Fishing. Hunting depending on season.

  • Help

    Help

    Put up fences, clear ground from wood, take care of animals and maintenance in the kitchen garden (which provide food to the family) would be the main priorities. But other things happening on the farm during the year would also provide your help, like harvest of hay or painting the buildings. If you are interesting in building/renovating houses there are opportunities as well. If you are interested in wood work (take down trees/saw boards) there are also possibilities.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English (German one of us understand some)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in the house. Shared bathroom and kitchen. Internet is provided. Food will be provided, some days we do meals together some days meals have to be done on your own depending on working scedule.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 121938434771