Come learn about quite old-fashioned way of farming in the White Carpathien (Bile Karpaty) mountains, Czech Republic

Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    16

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are small family farm located in east end of Czech Republic in White Carpathien (Bile Karpaty) mountains, in village Žítková. Ota(40), Klára(35), our kids (10, 8, 5).
    We take care of 36 hectares of meadows, pastures, fields, orchards, forest, people, cows, ship, horses, chicken, bees...All organic. Gan Eden but not perfect.
    Our house is open for all tolerant and friendly people ( who want also help us!☺️)
    We need help but we want to listen to stories, to learn from you,...
    Accommodation: you can stay in wooden barn (with electricity and water, 50 meters far from house) or in tent or inside our house in spare room full of toys.
    Inside our house is toilet, bathroom with hot water and wifi.
    Food: food we want to share with you is mainly from our own production. Vegetable, fruits, flour for bread, ship meat, eggs, cow milk, cheese, yoghurt,...you can also cook, but dont have to.
    We need to help with different farming duties, some rather old-fashioned (hand milking of cows, cutting grass with scythe, raking in hilly terrain, field work with horses) or normal works, like managing fences for animals, weeding, planting in garden,...
    Our most important work during summer months is cutting grass and preparing hay for winter. For this we use 2 old tractors, lawn movers, brush cutters.
    We have just few experience with volunteers. We are expecting open-minded people who would like to help us and become part of our family while staying here. We are looking forward to listen to your stories, experience and opinions. We will be happy if you could one day in a week make some trip around and we will have private family time.
    Language skills: Ota has bad english and bad hebrew but learns and tries hard to improve☺️ Klara has better english, kids are usually very shy...
    Friday evenings and Saturdays is (usually) no work, we make kiddush and havdalah.
    In your free time you can go swimming in small lake (1 km) or go to pub (1km) or walk in beautiful forest all around. There are few nice towns with castles not far and some funny summer music festivals...
    What more? Looking gorward to meet you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about quite old-fashioned way of farmering, about milking, cheese making, growing vegetable,... about how can be the idea of self-sufficiency possible or not, about how to combine family and farm, about organic farmering and czech argricultural bureaucracy and generally about how city people live in village.

  • Help

    Help

    We will be happy for help with making hay, taking care of animals, managing fences for animals, works in vegetable field, preparing wood, cleaning of pastures, harvesing and conserving of fruit and vegetable,...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Czech (native), english (fluently), hebrew (want to learn more!)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Wooden house, barn with electricity and water or tent or small room inside our house.
    We usually have long breakfast, during day some snack, long dinners with a lot of food, some wine in the night (not everyday☺️) Coffee when you want...
    We eat meat, but we are flexible to cook for vegetarian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We accept volunteers from May to October. Our maximum are 2 people in the same time (group of max. 4 friends is possible just for appr. 1 week), for us is better shorter time of stay (1 - 3weeks)
    Vegetarians or vegans, children and dogs who dont chase chickens are allowed☺️

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 121394398782