Help on our 5 acres of paradise in Jupiter, Florida, USA


United States

Favourited 551 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We own 5 acres of paradise in Jupiter, Florida. Jupiter is a town about 1.5 hours north of Miami. It is on the coast with beautiful beaches, incredible wildlife and warm weather all year.

    We moved here about 5 years ago from California and are slowly improving our property. My father comes to work here every day (he is a retired engineer) doing construction and landscape maintenance projects. He needs a helper. For example, I've included some photos of him building a pergola. In the next few months he will be building a deck, doing some irrigation work. Sometimes he spends a few weeks cutting down trees. It is physical work and we are looking for someone who enjoys working with their hands outside and we will give preference to a person with experience.

    We have 4 - 5 hours of help 5 days per week, Monday through Friday. The help will start in the mornings around 8:00 and after you are done, you are free to do what you want.

    We offer you your own lodging in a private, air-conditioned tiny house that I have recently remodeled. It has an outdoor shower and bathroom. Since there is no good public transportation to our house, we will also offer you a scooter to get around with so that you can explore the beauty of Jupiter and adjacent towns on your time off. The building has a washing machine so you can do your laundry, as well as a microwave, fridge and hot plate so that you can prepare your food. We have a pool here that you can enjoy, and you are free to borrow our bike to explore biking trails. You might also enjoy kayaking or doing paddleboarding on our lake.

    If you are interested in construction, working with your hands, engineering and practicing your English, helping my father will be an excellent education for you. He is a very interesting man and does some innovative things around our property. My father is detail-oriented. Sometimes you will be given a task to do alone, and we are looking for a person who understands how to take ownership of a task and bring it to successful completion.

    We are looking for people to stay for one month or more. Preference is given to longer-term workawayers. We do not accept smokers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My dad speaks English only so you get 4-5 hours a day practicing language with him. He raised me all over the world and ran serious construction projects in a number of different countries. He's retired and he just can't stop building things. We feel so fortunate. He is a brilliant man and teacher and if you are also interested in building things, you will learn a lot from him.

    You will be living in your own unit on the other side of the property from us. We will always seek to include you if we are doing something fun or social and I make it a point to include our workawayers in any activity we do that I think might be interesting. Many Sundays we have a family meal that you are welcome to join.

    I speak Spanish and Italian as well if that is helpful for you. I have actually done Workaway myself (I have also done lots of travelling via other cultural exchange sites). Our whole family loves to travel and we are very open-minded people who are easy to get along with and love to share our ideas and our knowledge.

    If you love nature - I am frequently looking for a partner to go out biking, kayaking and snorkeling or paddleboarding with. I will ask you to go with me from time to time if you have interest.

    We are a family with a 14 year old son and we all have jobs so usually at night we are tired and go to bed early. A lot of times we grab meals separately and eat on our own between activities. We are typical Americans like that. (I know it is bad.) That's why we give you a scooter. This opportunity is a good one for an independent person who wants a secure and supportive base from which to form their own connections within the community. You will be disappointed if you rely on us to provide the majority of your social interactions - but we will give you all kinds of support and tips for how you can forge your own. You have the privacy and independence to explore the area on your own terms as well as join us when you feel like it or all our schedules match.

  • Help


    We need physical construction help or landscaping help 4-5 hours a day. This help is outside and you will get sweaty. You must be comfortable doing these kind of tasks alongside my father. If my dad is not working one day for some reason, I will probably need help with general landscape maintenance. My dad does go on vacation for a few months a year, so during those times, the help would be more geared towards gardening/landscaping and perhaps an hour or so daily of language practice/teaching if your mother tongue is Spanish or Italian.

    As stated, you will usually be done every day around 1:30 and the weekends are yours.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in practicing Spanish or Italian

  • Accommodation


    We provide you your own air-conditioned tiny house. It has 2 single beds, a washing machine, sink, and microwave, hot plate, etc. Adjacent to this unit is a shower and a toilet. Use of this shower and toilet will be mostly yours, however sometimes other guests stay on this side of the property and they will use this area as well. It would be your responsibility to keep the shower and toilet clean.

    For food, as stated above, we will welcome you when we have any larger family meals or parties, but for day to day eating just provide us a list of food you like to eat and we will keep your fridge stocked with the basics on a weekly basis. (Our place is perfect if you have particular eating requirements or if you are a picky eater because you have a lot of autonomy.) We also give you the facilities to prepare your food.

    As a family, we do follow a paleo diet. We love food, and if you are a great cook we would love for you to cook for us sometime. We are also happy to include you in our larger meals. But we eat no grains or dairy, so our eating styles may not be compatible. Even if our eating styles are not compatible, we make sure you are able to eat the food you want because food is very important!

    Our part of Florida is natural and a little wild. We are just a quick 10 minutes from the town, but we live with a baby alligator in our lake. There is wildlife everywhere and the way your accommodations are set up, you will be living close to nature during both day and night.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area of Florida is a tourist mecca. There is so much to see here. If you love water sports, this is the place. We live right near a beautiful nature area that is like a miniature Everglades Park. As stated above we give you access to kayaks, paddleboard, bicycles so that you can explore.

    As also stated, there is no public transport to our home. This is why we will provide you with a scooter to get around our town. If you would like to go to further destinations like Miami or the keys, you can choose to take Lyft or Uber to the train or public transport. Since I am in the business of hosting guests, I am a good resource on helping you figure out what to do around here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We offer a high speed internet connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can offer an arrangement for those with their own RVs

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 117111894351