Experience living self-sufficiently in the beautiful Burgha Valle, Tarragona, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 103 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Avril Davies, l am in my 80's but feel much younger, l live with my two elderly lady friends, 7 dogs, 6 cats, a horse and 15 chickens. I am originally from Wales but now live in the beautiful Burgha Valley in a totally renovated and self sufficient finca 2 and a half hours south of Barcelona. My home is surrounded by mountains with many walking and cycling trails, the nearest village is 7 kilometres away and has a weekly fresh produce market. The beaches are a 25 minute drive, although l have a lovely swimming pool available. I could also provide use of a car if you so wished. The river ebro is a 10 minute drive and is renowned for its fishing and kayaking. The largest city nearby is Tarragona with it cosmopolitan shopping and underground roman ruins, there is a wealth of interesting and exciting activities available nearby or for the more relaxed, fabulous beaches to explore.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Spending time at my finca would allow you to immerse yourself in the local culture, the production of olive oil, and local wines, there is a winery in production only a 10 minute walk from my property, the local markets offer a wealth of organically grown vegetables and fresh caught seafood so many culinary avenues can be explored, the locals speak Spanish and catalan, and a great many understand English. My property gives you the opportunity to unerstand and explore off grid living. How to maintain a swimming pool, how to look after a horse and there are many historic places of interest in the immediate vicinity.

  • Help

    Help

    I would require help, cleaning, feeding and exercising my animals, light gardening, cleaning swimming pool, companionship for my elderly friends whilst l am out or otherwise indisposed, light housework occasionally, assistance collecting shopping to include medical prescriptions.

  • Languages spoken

    Welsh: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a lovely converted seperate unit some 200yrds from my property with a lounge, bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. I will provide 3 meals a day, plus the use of a vehicle should it be required.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can offer the use of a fully insured vehicle, and the train to Barcelona is only a 20 minute drive so this wonderful city can be explored or Valencia further south both only a 2hours train journey and travel is not expensive but there are many historically pretty villages that can easily be accessed. The River Ebro is a 10 minute drive and has a car ferry over to the village of Miravet with its ancient castle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 116559597186