Experience the project on our ecological farm near Trafaria, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 675 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    603

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    “Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing there is a field. I'll meet you there." ~ Rumi

    This is where a new story begins. The passion for pure nature, the practice of yoga and mindfulness. A fertile space for roots to grow, wings to fly. Love is all you need.

    We are Francisca and João and we live at the countryside very close to Lisbon. In a farm that is has been held by family and allows us to have a space to live and love. With a piece of land that we want to transform into an eco camping. A garden to practice permaculture and enough space to accommodate 2 and up to 5 people, allowing people to help us with our project. To make an example for ecological living in peace.

    We met each other in the breakfast queue at the end of boom festival in 2014. The ecological vision of the festival is amazing. An example for recycling, re-using, reducing and taking care of nature. Ofcourse the creative elements and garden shapes, based on permaculture are inspiring to us. We have a happy dog 'Mooji' who loves cuddles. He is used to guests. Our cats and chicken will be around too.

    Our developing process goes slowly to create something beautiful, enjoying every step. We usually need help from 2 people who apply together and are okay to share a T0 home with beds located close together. Average stay is 1 week up to 15 days. It depends on what a project will require.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    One of the benefits is that we have a safe environment to stay. This is a place, on top of the hill, where we can hear free birds sing. It is more natural and calm than other places. That is the advantage of staying at the country side. Close enough to reach beaches. 30 kilometers of soft sand, ocean waves, surfspots, villages and Lisbon.

    Next to the accomodation, we offer the meals in the form of groceries, to prepare your own vegetarian food in the guesthouse on working days. Or we ask you to make the vegetarian meals for all of us to share. We also offer access to yoga classes that are available and WiFi internet.

    Sheets, towels, blankets are included. Our working schedule doesn't allow us to eat all meals and share working hours at the same time. If you need less hours of work we balance the exchange. Before people arrive we clarify what is needed. Francisca did a Permaculture Design Course and could share the basics to work with nature.

    We are teaching Mindfulness and Yoga in online and at home. It might be interesting. Practicing how to live based on ecological life style with awareness. To communicate and plan activities, sharing each others needs and to work with garden design based on sustainability. We speak English together. You might hear some Portuguese.

  • Help

    Help

    A project based on working in de garden; maintaining and shaping the land, ground and trees/ plants. Building little DIY projects with old pallets for outdoor furniture, re-using, breading the fence with branches and painting work where needed. Inspired on the knowledge of a book; the gardening awakening by Mary Reynolds.

    Carrying materials around the garden and land, landscaping, being able to work with the ground for plants and trees. Align with our bio/ ecological vision using biodegradable shower products, being responsable for your own recyclables. Knowledge sharing about natural products, gardening and upcycling is welcome.

    Francisca is Dutch and João Portuguese. We both speak English. Next to our primary goal to work on the land, we have an interest in recieving help to make more outdoor camping facilities. For example a natural outdoor kitchen and a hot compost shower for the camping ground.

    Often you need to plan your own - or group working schedule, based on project priorities. Being proactive, devoted & independent. Therefor we usually need minimal 2 volunteers at the same time who are comfortable to share a small guesthouse and work together.

    Since March 2022 we have a baby. She needs our attention and care, therefor we may need some help around the house too or even with her if possible. This could be a new exchange next to help with gardening. Experience, sensibility and confidence will be needed.

    A creative, peaceful, humble, honest, open mind will make it work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Enjoy a cosy home base. Basic open interior with a 4p. kitchen table, 2 single beds, 1 shower with 1 toilet and an open kitchen (all materials to cook included). This house is our moms “holiday home” so we expect our volunteers to take extra good care of it.

    We have a main gate and we are neighbors. The farm it self has a big shed, old chicken houses, another small building. Cars are allowed to park outside the gate. From the land we can see the city lights shine over the river. The terrace in front of the house offers a place to sit outside. We offer laundry for sheets and towels if needed after a week or so. There is hand wash soap in case you wish to wash clothes and you can dry laundry outside on the line. Products for cleaning and showering are mostly biodegradable. We are careful using water.

    If needed we will make use of our caravan which is connected to more ecological and simple, sustainable sources. We always balance the exchange. If needed we can offer a tent, sharing shower, toilet and cooking facilities from the houses and with volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Most is described in "Cultural exchange and learning opportunities"

    It is possible to reach Lisbon from here. Crossing the bridge by car or travel with public transport. A ferry boat in Trafaria will bring you to Belém. From there you can travel by train. Or walk 10 minutes, take the metro and train from Pragal. Local restaurants, in 4 km distance, will serve fresh sea food and traditional dishes for friendly prices. There is a bus stop around the corner that will reach the coast places. The beach is 4,7 km distance. About 10 minutes by car or 1 hour walking. To cycle you need strong legs to go back, there is a bike rental at Trafaria's ferry boat. It is wise to bring a budget for public transports and extra food.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A small Campervan can go up onto the land field. The gate is only 2.5 meters wide and vans can not be more then 4 meters long. We have a compost toilet now and we can create an outdoor shower in warmer months. Or if it is possible we make a shower schedule with the ones who stay in the T0 home, Casa da Mãe.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a male dog who is free to be outside. We can close the fence of the land to give camping volunteers a space for their dog to walk free. We have to be aware of the combinations we would make first and we are careful with that. Usually our dog goes well along with female dogs. Next to this we have cats and chickens who do not like being chased. Their safety and well-being is our first priority.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 655847195794