Volunteer with a family in Kerry, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 239 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello dear reader,
    We are a family of 5 . There is Olive the french papa, Lennox the oldest young man 16 , Alain next young man 15 and Yasmina the young woman 12. Myself Maja german mama.
    Oli is a butcher he produces a wide range of fish pork, lamb and seaweed products all artisanal.I have set up 20 years ago my little cheese dairy where i produce a range of row milk cheeses made out of goats milk and cow milk. 7 years ago I opened in Dingle a, beautiful little town, and 1 year ago the second shop, in a bigger town Tralee. We both have our workshops at the house .Beside producing all that nice food which we sell mostly on local markets or in our shops, we look after a little veg garden and a view animals. Our place is 5 minutes from the 9 kilometer long beach away and is backed up by mountain.
    The next bigger town Tralee is 20 minutes away by car and the next smaller town Dingle, is 15 minutes away.In the nearest village Castlegregory you find a supermarket, a post office, parmacy, internet and pub`s.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to improve your language skills, everything about cheese. How it is being made the different types. selling it. How to make sausages , like Salami or Chorizo sell food on the farmers markets. Gardening !

  • Help

    Help

    We need mainly help for our new project which is renovating the neighbour house. It is a 200 year old cottage right next to our own house. Therefore we are looking for people with building or carpenter work experience.
    Someone who is good with there hands loves outdoor activities, likes gardening and play soccer optional :-)
    Who helps in the house with cleaning and cooking if needed.
    There is always the possibility to help in the cheese shops for language improvement.
    The cheese making will not start until the end of May but their is always things to learn in Olli`s kitchen, where he makes Salami , Pate`s cooked seaweeds and lots more . We are also baking bread regularly in our bread backing oven . Make fermented foods and drinks like Kombucha ore kefir .
    We look foreward to hearing from you
    Maja, Olli and co

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    . Will have your own caravan next to house. All the rest is shared with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From May on we are looking for two strong arms (person with it :-) ) who likes to help us with building work. The planting in the garden and polly tunnel will soon start as well !! If you have knowledge in this area, even better.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    (max 25 hours/week)





Host ref number: 11559764664c