Rocky Mountain Organic Farm, Eco Building (tiny houses), Retreat center. BC Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    440

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Are you interested in learning and sharing your time and skills in the creation of a dream? Do you want to be part of the solution to the current problems we have in our society? Are you craving a connection back to nature?

    "Be the change you want to see in this world". Ghandi

    Welcome to Golden BC, this is one of the best places to be.

    We are in the process of co-creating a place to help others. Building with recycled and reclaimed supplies in harmony with nature is our standard. Planting seeds and working towards sustainable food independence in a colder environment is our goal.

    I'm Taro, I've been building with recycled materials for over 25 years, I'm a Master Electrician and Eco builder, Farmer, and Father. My partner Catherine is a world traveler and mother to Ember our 6 year old daughter. My son Coren (22) lives with us in his own tiny house. We have a chocolate Lab Mocha, two cats and three ponies.


    What we both would like is to find a couple who are interested in a long term commitment (1 year) or more who are serious about living here and looking to learn what we have to offer. We live in one of the most fun mountain towns you could hope to live in, the people are fantastic.

    We need help with building accommodation's (tiny houses), landscaping and Gardens, Building Greenhouses, building an amphitheater, website design, and general housekeeping.

    If you feel the call please contact us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love nature, water, hiking and walk the path of Enlightenment.. we want to live in a better world and treat mother nature with respect. We like to talk about sustainable alternative technologies and Natural medicine and would love to learn more or get different perspective from you and where you come from.
    We would also be happy to show you around a few of our favorite spots.
    We speak English in the house but Cat is originally from Quebec and speaks French with our daughter. So if you are French and need a transition place to start learning English, we are the right stop. We have been hosting volunteers for 5 years now so we know how to treat people well!!

  • Help

    Help

    we need your help with :
    Construction, gardening, Housekeeping, general maintenance, animal care.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have several options on places to stay, from the top suite of our renovated barn to one of the tiny houses or campervans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you have your own transportation it's great!! Canada's bus service is undergoing serious change so travel to Golden is an adventure in itself, let us know where you are coming from and perhaps we can assist in finding your ride.
    Golden is a laid back town just 3 hours from Calgary airport. It is located between beautiful National Parks (Yoho, Banff, Rogers Pass), we have here the best white water rafting in Canada, the wetlands, DH and XC biking and an hour away from natural Hot Springs.
    And from our house, you can bike and hike or just have a lazy day enjoying the sun!!
    We are really looking forward to meet you!! You will love it!! And thank you so much for giving some of your time to help us realize some of our projects!!
    Cat & Taro

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The chicken coop
Ember's first big hike at Gorman Lake, a local secret beauty!!
This is us! Cat, Taro and little Ember 2014
Taro knows how to make bonfires!!!
One of the local's secret spot to go camping and have fun in the water
A nice afternoon on the wetlands
Our greenhouse with Ember Spring 2015

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.5)

Communication: (4.0)










Host ref number: 113717477394