Sweet Family in Beautiful Boulder, Colorado needs help cleaning, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 516 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Right now Mum is recovering from knee surgery and can't clean, run errands etc. Our home is too big to manage cleaning on crutches, doing laundry etc and our little family needs help urgently. The workaway friend we had scheduled for July had to go home early unexpectedly.

    Short or long term is fine!

    We strongly prefer guests who have excellent references on the workaway website and have completed previous successful live/work trades.

    We need all kinds of help:

    If you have carpentry or handyman/woman skills that is a big bonus.

    Another big bonus is someone with administrative skills, I'm swamped in personal paperwork, very behind after having knee surgery.

    Please note I do not need cooking help, just occasional food prep

    We live in Gunbarrel, the northernmost Boulder neighborhood, 10 minutes from downtown. From our house we walk to thousands of acres of hiking/biking rails and it's a few blocks walk to King Soopers (large grocery store), Starbucks, restaurants, coffee shops, Avery Brewery which had a wonderful cafe/pub and fun tours is close too.

    There is an easy bus to downtown and also a bike and helmet to borrow!

    I would love to have someone come stay for a few weeks or a few months. You don't need to have carpentry experience, just be detail-oriented, enthusiastic and hard working!

    Work schedule: we usually schedule 4-5 hour shifts 3-4 days a week (total 18 hours) so our workaway guests have plenty of days off and time to enjoy Colorado! I can do 2-3 hours every day if that's preferable, I'm very flexible!

    Personally I've traveled all over the world and love having guests here in my home. I live with my (extremely well-behaved) nine year old son who also loves meeting new people from around the world.

    It is helpful if you:
    -have a car but not necessary, there is excellent public transportation, we provide a bike and you can ride around with us in our car :)
    -like dogs, we have a new puppy
    -like cats, we have 2 kittens

    We do not allow:
    -smoking anywhere in our home or property and we do not accept smokers, apologies.
    -we are not 420 friendly, this is not a good fit for marijuana tourists, edible users or anyone who uses marijuana in any for
    -heavy drinking, this is a family home with a young child, it is not a good fit for someone who has more than an occasional drink
    -pets, apologies we can't accept pets, our dog doesn't like other dogs
    -untidy guests who leave their dishes in sink, dirty bathroom etc (we keep a very clean house)

    Please note, we work hard, most of the work we do is hard physical work, cleaning, gardening, painting etc. I usually work alongside our workaway friends and we get a lot done. If you haven't had a job where you worked hard physically or don't enjoy or find satisfaction from working hard then this is not a good fit. (This almost never happens but please note we are not a good fit for someone who just wants a free place to stay but isn't interested in an exchange of work for accommodations. We schedule work time after meal time is done and focus on work. Guests who stop to text every few minutes or stop after 30 minutes to make a snack that could have made before starting working or who do personal chores during our work time (laundry, meal prep etc) are not helpful, we respect your time and ask you to respect ours too. Thank you for your understanding : )

    We have a guest house right now so we have room for a couple! (we take couples if we have a guest house available as the main house gets very crowded very fast.)

    We have a duplex home and we are very quiet in the mornings because our kitchen is next to their bedroom so more than 1 person in the kitchen in the morning is not an option unfortunately).

    Please let me know your specific skills that are a good match and that you read through the whole profile if you reach out to me so I know for sure it's a good fit for you and for us, we want you to be happy and have a great time!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    English language, see Colorado's sights!

  • Help

    Help

    There is always a lot to do around the house and garden, never a dull moment and I'm happy to find the type of volunteer work that is a good match for our volunteer!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Serbian, Croatian, some German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest house, private guest room or possibly an apartment with shared bath depending on availability (please note we are VERY clean and tidy, we don't ever leave dishes in the sink, we wipe stove and counters after each meal, we wipe bathroom counter, put toilet seats down etc and ask our guests to do the same)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Boulder and Denver are dynamic, beautiful cities nestled against the Majestic Rocky Mountains. There is so much to do here, lots of museums, cultural events, international film festivals and outdoor activities, 5K road races, bike races, hiking trails and our weather is almost always sunny and beautiful!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    18 hours/week total













Host ref number: 113675739857