Join our family and help teaching our daughter Chinese while enjoying the beauty of Calvia, Mallorca

  • Favourited 7 times
  • Last activity: 30 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are an Italian family of 3: me, Manuela 47 years old; My husband Andrea (49 years old;) architect and my daughter Minmin  敏敏 (10 years old;) . She studies in an international college. and she speaks English, Italian, Spanish Chinese (Level HSK2) and a bit of French. We lived in Shanghai for 20 years until covid happened and we decided to relocate in Europe. We have been now living for almost 4 years in Mallorca , Baleares Islands, Spain. We have a lovely cat, Muffin, friendly with everybody.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The traveller staying with us will simply continue her cultural journey enjoying a very international environment not just with our family who has been leaving abroad for many years and who can share many experiences from traveling around the world; but also in our quiet community populated by people from different countries: Spain, Germany, UK, Ireland, USA, Australia, France.
    Also, Mallorca is well known as one of the most beautiful pearl of Mediterranean Sea and it s a beautiful experience to do.
    I am a good chef and I can teach few Italian recipes, in particular Bolognese sauce recipe (from my grandma who comes from South Italy), pasta and pizza.
    Not last, I need to remind that Spanish is one of the most spoken language in the world and you can learn it doing classes but also having fun at the beach where Mallorqinos people and South American people are very friendly and making friends in the city.

    It is actually a dream place for all my friends.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi guys, we basically need a LANGUAGE PRACTICE HELP. Since my daughter Minmin lived for almost 8 years in Shanghai, she was clearly exposed to Mandarin in her daily life. But in Mallorca now all this can't happen and even if she takes some Chinese lessons every week and she can read and write lots of characters with my help (I took a Master degree in Venice University in Chinese Language and Literatures and I teach Chinese online myself) I would love to have a Mandarin mother-tongue in the house willing to conversate in Chinese daily with Minmin. The use of Chinese language must be massive with her and if she does not understand, the person should explain again in Chinese. No English or other languages allowed at least when me or Minmin are in the house. Therefore we need a young Chinese girl (20 -27 years old more or less) willing to speak in my house ALWAYS in Chinese. Spending time with Minmin doing whatever, the aim is conversate with her in Chinese so that her vocabulary can grow and she can express herself with more confidence, more naturally and without being shy. We love Chinese food and we also would like this person could cook some days every week simple Chinese dishes like 炒面, 蛋炒饭,土豆丝, 饺子。。。)。

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in an attached villa in the middle of the nature in a community where we share a swimming pool and a big garden. Behind we have woods where the helper can have a relaxing 40 minutes walk until the sea. We have 2 terraces, 3 bathroom and 3 bedrooms.The helper will stay in a very comfortable big room all for herrself and she will wake up and will go to sleep with the scent of pines all around. She will probably share the bathroom with my daughter.
    For the food, I can buy grocery for the 4 of us (she will tell me what to buy for her Chinese recipe or the first times she can can with me) and few days a week she can cook for the 4 of us: she can cook whenever she has time, put the food in the fridge sothatat the right moment dinner will be ready. We can arrange in the future the details.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is a beautiful attached Villa surrounded by nature and located in an international community with swimming pool. We are 8 minutes walking distance from one of the most spectacular bay int the island: Portal Vells. We are 5 minutes away by car from Palmanova and Magaluf, (reachable also by public transportation ) two well known places for discos, beach party, beach sports, clear water for swimming and where you can find every kind of different restaurants and cuisine. We are 25 minutes away by car from the main city Palma di Mallorca, a vibrant place where many cultural events take place all year around (theatres, cinemas, bars, local markets). The City of Palma is reachable from our home also by bus. Mallorca is an amazing island where culture, nature, history and internationalism are mixed all together. There is any kind of landscape, from the Mediterranean sea(sand beaches and magic rocks beaches) to the mountain: Sierra de Tramontana: Unesco Heritage and a Paradise for hikers and climbers.

    Mallorca, together with the other Baleares Islands (Ibiza, Minorca and Formentera) all connected by boat, is a famous place to have fun with young people from all over the world.

    Me, Andrea and Minmin are friendly and easy going people open to the world and to new experiences. We value respect, cleanliness, tidiness, honesty. That is also what we expect from the people interested in this experience. It would be the first time for us and hope we can find a person suitable for us. I am a very direct and frank woman open to communicate if something is not going well and ready to talk about how the situation can be improved.

    My husband wake up very early in the morning to work. He works with the Chinese time -zone because is Studio is still in Shanghai. I usually wake up at 730 am to take care of my daughter who has to go to school (the helper could help me with to prepare the lunch box for school for ex). I don't particularly need the helper in the morning after 830 am, unless she wants to cook for dinner. I need her more in the late afternoon when Minmin is home to talk to her and do activities with her in Chinese.

    Of course, whenever possible, she s welcome to spend week-end with us going out for hiking or excursions with our friends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I consider case by case.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 112546599154

Feedback (2)


Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)