Prairies, lakes and plains in SE Colorado, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 719 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have the usual animal routines.... feeding, watering and caring for the goats ( all 6 named and oh so cute ), horse, Zebu cow and Holstein calf, dogs and birds.
    We continue fencing projects to increase the acreage they can access we are painting internal walls of the house.
    Permaculture gardening practices... ongoing needs out there include weed whacking and moving stuff.... spring planting....there's always something to be done.....
    Two people would be fine if the skills are spread across both.
    Plenty of recreation in the area: bicycles, tennis courts, frisbee golf, lakes and boats available nearby.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn new tool skills- animal husbandry- small town headaches :( and positives :)
    and about the rural mid-west; this is a Colorado lifestyle.

  • Help

    Help

    Just bring a flexible attitude- things can go wrong, especially with animals.
    All the skills will be taught to you if you haven't done them before.
    I will provide all the stuff you will need ( ear/ eye protection, gloves, tools etc ).
    Help is mainly taking care of the property and animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In your own trailer or In my trailer with power, chemical toilet and bottled water.... too cold at present to run through pipes. Heater and cooking facilities; socially distancing possibly healthier until vaccines abound.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is clean and tidy- there are no indoor animals- property is 7 acres- this is a small rural community in SE Colorado- town within walking distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Bring a booster so you can access from your residence.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    30 amp service. Water alongside but may not be hose compatible in winter temperatures. Have your own toilet set up ( composting, tent etc ) or I have a chemical toilet you can use.( dump outlet on driveway ) You could shower up in the house. You will need a heating arrangement in van; lots of firewood available ( sometimes an open fire ban in effect )

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


























Host ref number: 000000000213