Help on a nonprofit organic farm in the North Cascade mountains, USA

Country

United States

updated   Last minute

Favourited 456 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    689

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    2021 Update:

    We are currently booking for the upcoming season and have an opening, preferably for someone who can arrive in August and stay through the harvest season (end of Oct or possibly November). We prefer longer stays of at least a month, and love when we can find a good fit who can stay with us for 2-6 months! PS-once in a while we find a good fit with a helper which allows us to host them through the winter using a more flexible schedule, allowing them to also work part time offsite for wages if they desire. We may have this option available over the 2021/22 winter season.

    We currently have 8 full time adult residents in our collective with 2-3 seasonal helpers-we are all engaging in a set of agreements around COVID safety. Because we have children here who cannot be vaccinated, and because our environment at the farm includes quite a lot of personal interaction, shared space/meals, we would find it difficult to host someone who does not intend to be vaccinated. Folks who aren't vaccinated upon arrival should be fine as we could offer a modified quarantine for a short time and help them access a local vaccination option. Thanks for your understanding.

    In the 2021 growing season, projects include: completion of our new outdoor kitchen addition (basic structure is up, need to install kitchen and finish work); light remodel of a tiny house/cabin; possible remodel of small schoolbus into tiny house; occasional help with campsites (we host through Hipcamp); assist with poultry (feeding and care, egg collection only as we do not slaughter animals here); assist with events (hoping to return to our usual event schedule this year which includes a small music festival); regular garden related tasks (preparing the soil, digging, planting, seed starting in greenhouses, transplanting, weeding, harvesting, mulching); food preservation (canning, freezing, fermentation, pickling, drying); seed collection, processing, and packaging; general landscaping including mowing, weedwacking, blackberry removal, pruning, mulching; firewood harvest including chopping, stacking, cleanup; and more. When someone brings a skill such as carpentry, or even videography, we try to include other opportunities as well.

    Organic collective farm nestled in the foothills of the North Cascade mountains, looking for help with farm tasks, general landscaping and rural living activities, occasionally building projects. We are a community devoted to conservation, educational and social outreach. The farm is a non-profit land trust focused on conservation, outreach, and education. We have 100+ acres, mostly wooded with a lovely creek running through our land. We offer a range of outreach programs, the most impactful of which is our seed distro project. We grow, process, and package organic heirloom seeds for schools, food banks, community gardens, and low income households at no cost-we typically distribute around 10,000 packages each year for free. We sell very little produce, instead using our acreage to provide for residents of the farm and to grow seeds to improve food access in our area. We've been hosts on other sites for over a decade, and have hosted hundreds of folks through those sites. We've met amazing people through hosting and look forward to meeting new friends! We have a detailed info packet that we send prior to applying/booking which should give a good overview of what we have going on here.

    Kids and Pets: We generally can't host dogs, although occasionally we can host someone with a small dog (this is more about the needs of our resident dogs, who are not always keen on visiting dogs). We do love children, but we find that the type of tasks we are doing combined with the rainy PNW weather works best for helpers with older children, probably age 6 or 7 and up, who can play independently nearby while their parent is completing a task.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In addition to organic gardening and farming education, you may also have the opportunity to study: natural building; food preservation (canning, drying, fermentation); conservation practices (riparian planting etc); wildcrafting and native plant ID; pruning; poultry care; permaculture design, layout, implementation; homesteading skills (landscaping, wood harvest, off grid water systems, etc); crafts (soapmaking, brewing and vinting, woodworking, sewing, any fiber related craft like spinning, dyeing, knitting, weaving, and more); herbalism; events management; seed saving/processing/packaging; CSA and produce marketing, and much more. We also do a lot of fun things here-there are several large festivals/gatherings planned (music and educational) and plenty of social gatherings, events, parties, creek swimming, hiking, and more. We do not typically need help with activities such as crafts, but are usually available for folks to learn or try while they are here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have been hosting through other websites for over 15 years, and have a pretty good system in place. We ask that people come here with a solid work ethic, good communication skills, and the willingness to learn. Tasks vary greatly depending on season, but can include general gardening, light construction, cleaning, painting, landscaping, firewood harvest, tree planting, poultry care, pruning, food preservation, and more. We meet in the morning to discuss daily tasks and there will be opportunities for both group and independent work. We much prefer longer stays of 2+ months but are willing to host shorter visits (2 weeks or more) for international visitors.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Note: In 2021 we will most likely utilize a full sized travel trailer, the rooms in the community house, and possibly the vintage travel trailer and/or schoolbus.

    We have a bunkhouse for helpers built in 2016, usual capacity of four (two in each bedroom, with kitchen area in between) and this is the primary place we host visitors. We also have a shorty schoolbus with woodstove, private bedrooms in the community house, vintage travel trailer, and tiny homes/cabins which may be available if unoccupied by full time residents. If you prefer a tent, we can provide one but we always have enough indoor space available so tenting is optional not required. There is a communal kitchen in the bunkhouse with gas stove/oven, refrigerator, food. The bunkhouse kitchen has an outdoor dish washing station. The farm primarily uses rainwater collection and usually has gravity fed cold water at various residences-no hot running water although we do have a seasonal outdoor shower as well as a weekly wood fired sauna. We have several outdoor composting toilets (in separate buildings from the sleeping quarters), no indoor toilets on the farm. We receive great reviews about the food here--if you visit in the June-November period you'll have access to an abundance of amazing produce! We also do a lot of food preservation here, so we also have many types of dehydrated and canned goods available all year. Our kitchen is primarily vegan, although we do typically have farm eggs and occasionally purchase a bit of cheese for visitors. We stock with a large inventory of dry goods including various beans/pulses/legumes, grains, flour (although we also have a grinder), pasta, herbs and seasonings, oils, cereals, vegan milk, and a variety of items like coconut milk, coffee, and chocolate. Most of what we purchase is organic. Visitors take turns cooking meals on a rotation schedule with others. There is cell phone reception on the farm although it can be spotty-we can occasionally offer wifi (sort of high speed) at a private residence on the farm but this should be occasional and limited to things like email and itinerary planning. There is good high speed wifi available in town at the local library for downloads, video etc.

    Unfortunately, we cannot host dogs. We do like them, but are maxed out with the number of resident farm dogs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We love hosting international visitors, and can sometimes alter their schedule to allow three days off per week to allow for more sight seeing in the area. The nearest "town" is a village of about 800 people and is located 5 miles away. There is a local bus stop within a half mile of the farm which makes several round trips to a more urban area. About 45 minutes away from the farm, there is a bus/train station. Our residents all work at least part time off site, so there are ample opportunities to carpool into town or to the bus/train station. We are about equal distance between Seattle and Vancouver BC. The ferry to the San Juan Islands is about a 45 minute drive from the farm. We think our place is pretty ideally situated for sight seeing, and for those who like to hike or be in the wilderness, our mountains draw people from all over the world each year.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    While it may be challenging to host a large vehicle such as full sized schoolbus or 30 foot motorhome, we can usually accommodate smaller options.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 233476442465