Meals Included! Horses and Nature in Bend, Oregon, USA

updated
Country

United States

Favourited 503 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1250

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Update - We are looking for someone who is an excellent horse rider to help ASAP. We have space available through summer. We can teach you all about natural horsemanship, including tricks and liberty. We prefer someone female since we have 3 daughters. There is opportunity to earn income teaching horse lessons or babysitting for friends of ours. Excellent local, organic, gluten-free meals are included! We regularly make trips to Portland area if you need help with transportation.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Hello! We are a family with 3 little girls and Grandpa. Our town, Bend, Oregon, USA, is one of the recreation capitals of the world.

    ABOUT US!
    We are a young family living on a quiet mini farm in a town of 85,000 people. We live on 10 acres and have lots of chickens, some rabbits, dogs, and horses, plus goats and pigs depending on the season. Our family is very busy, but we are friendly and kind. We have been hosting since 2010 and have only ever had good experiences. We are looking for someone who is pretty independent because the kids take up a lot of our attention. We eat organic, local foods and do not eat any gluten or corn. We love to bike, rock climb, skateboard, ride horses, and hike.

    - Kali (mom) is a horse trainer - natural horsemanship, trick training, trick riding, Western riding, jumping, dressage
    - Chris (dad) works from home as a programmer and is starting a coffee business
    - Quinlyn (age 7) loves gymnastics, dance, and martial arts. She is bossy but very smart!
    - Revelyn age 1. She loves to laugh and loves the outdoors.
    - Cora (age 9) is artistic and loves imagination games. We only have Cora for summer and holidays.

    We love to have the good energy of travelers around us! You will not be on vacation here, but you'll learn about the upbringing of American children and about life on a little farm.

    OUR HOME
    - Peaceful property with canal, pond, and beautiful scenery
    - Vegetable garden
    - Mountain biking and road biking right from our house
    - Horses and ponies to ride and play with
    - Beautiful hikes
    - Nearby creek, river, and lakes
    - Rock climbing at world-famous Smith Rock
    - Skate parks, roller rink, soccer center, rock climbing gym, parkour gym 20-minute drive from house
    - You may use our WiFi, laundry, kitchen, etc - whatever you need in the house
    - We are 3 hours from Portland and 3.5 hours from the Oregon coast.
    - Seattle is 6 hours away and San Francisco is 8. Yellowstone is 10.5 hours.

    WINTER
    We can host couples and singles but not families in the winter due to limited space. Unfortunately we are not able to offer RV parking due to our landlord’s rules. In winter, there is Mt. Bachelor, Mt Hood, and Hoodoo to ski and snowboard at - all 45 minutes away. You can also cross country ski from the house when there is enough snow. We go ice skating once a week.

    ABOUT OUR CITY
    Bend is a small town, primarily known for its famous breweries and recreation. Locals spend their time doing outdoor activities. There is a ton of public land in Bend and people who live here are very active. Mountain biking, rock climbing, and stand-up paddle are the most common summer sports. here are free, small festivals throughout the summer and also a lot of street-fairs. We are centrally located between Bend, Redmond, and Sisters.

    SUMMER
    Our home is one mile from the river, which is great for floating and wading, on a street famous for road biking, half a mile from dirt biking trails, and there are countless hiking trails and lakes nearby, including the Pacific Crest Trail! There are virtually unlimited outdoor activities. Our kids are usually swinging on rope swings around the property that hang over a small canal or building forts. You will love helping us run our coffee cart at local farmer's markets.

    Contact us for links to our Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, and website :) If you're not sure how you will get here, contact us and we will see if we can help. We have friends who go to Portland and Eugene a lot, and there are busses and planes that come here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our property is very peaceful. There is a lot of wildlife here, like hawks, deer, rabbits, and owls - you will see them every day. There are beautiful mountain views. If you like the outdoors then this is a great place to be!

  • Help

    Help

    VOLUNTEERING
    You can take two days off of your choice. Your daily chores will take 5 hours. We need help with:
    - Dishes, laundry, housekeeping
    - Animals
    - General helper
    - Weeding, fencing, and construction if you can
    - We can help you find work for pay, like babysitting, farm work, or teaching horseback riding.

    No smoking, drinking, or drug use is allowed, period.

    There is a nearby college - Central Oregon Community Collge and OSU Cascades.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish - all languages accepted

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The motorhome is 31 feet long. It has a bathroom and shower, but you are welcome to use the bathroom and shower in the house. You can also use the kitchen, laundry room, and anything else you need inside the house.

    We have wifi (wireless internet). We LOVE to cook and would love to swap recipes with you. We eat a lot of meat but it is all natural, local, and organic.

    Our home can feel wild with 3 young kids, so you have to be used to a busy environment.

    There is barely any public transportation here - no buses, taxis, trains locally to speak of. Uber is expensive. To be happy here, you must like living out of town in a rural setting. There aren't a lot of fun city things to do - life here is about nature and outdoor recreation.

    We can loan you our car to go into town, but we have had a Workawayer break the car before, so you need to be a good driver and know how to drive an automatic.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We'll help you plan weekend trips using public transit. We can't go with you much, due to having the kids, but we'll encourage you! You can take a bus to Portland or Seattle. You can also sign up for excursions through businesses in town, like whitewater rafting or skiing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week















Host ref number: 999691639413