Help out on our estate at the north end of the Isle of Jura off the west coast of Scotland

Favourited 225 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    21/11/2017

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live and work at the north end of the island of Jura off the west coast of Scotland. We have a working cattle farm and deer stalking estate of 16,000 acres. Jura is an island with only 200 people but 6000 red deer. There is one shop and one pub and a whisky distillery. George Orwell wrote '1984' here and described Jura as an 'unget-at-able' place.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We have a diverse range of work that needs doing around the estate from weeding the polytunnel to cleaning the beach. Depending on the time of year there are paths to maintain, animals to be fed and venison to be processed. No particular skills are needed, just a willingness to get stuck in. We tend to take people for two weeks at a time and just in spring and winter as we're busy with holidaymakers or our deer stalking season for the rest of the year although it's worth checking in to see if we have space.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a bit of French and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers live with us as a family - either in the main house where all meals are provided - or in a separate cottage where all food is provided and you can cater for yourself. Either way you get your own bedroom and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're very remote, 17 miles along a single track road from the village of Craighouse which has the only shop, the Hotel, the Jura distillery and a village hall. Jura is home to red deer, otters, golden eagles and dolphins. A love of the outdoors is a must. We neighbour the island of Islay which is renowned for its whiskies and is reached by a 5 minute ferry journey. A driving licence is preferable as public transport is very limited here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album


Host ref number: 998149554741