Painting a room, and/or weeding large garden in Edinburgh, Scotland

updated
Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a large and luxurious house in one of Edinburgh's nicest areas (quite central) which has been in my family for more than fifty years. You can have your choice of rooms and free use of my living space, fridge, and garden. I've always enjoyed having people around and am easy to get on with.

    I've no preference for age or gender, and I'd just mention that if you're a single female you're perfectly safe as I'm very respectful and can provide couchsurfing references to this effect if you need them. This arrangement could be for anything from a few days to a few weeks, as I'm very flexible fitting this in with the rest of my own very busy life where I own and run a couple of businesses related to Scottish heritage (weaving & making tartan & tweed products).

    (Experience with decoration OR plants preferred)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a local born and bred, with deep roots in Edinburgh and Scotland, not least through the heritage-related businesses I run (weaving & manufacturing tartan and tweed products). And I'm pretty chatty. So you're sure to learn a lot - and I'd hope to learn about wherever you're from too!

  • Help

    Help

    My house has two largish gardens, front and back. They were being well looked after until this year. But the weeds are starting to take over! So I'd love to find someone who'd enjoy getting their hands dirty (and - important! - who can tell the difference between a weed and a plant that's meant to be there) and who can operate a lawn mower.

    You'll find three recent images on my profile... plus one taken about three months ago, showing just how fast it grows! Thanks to a wonderful workaway-er the front is already in much better shape. But there's still a lot to do!!

    I have a friend who comes to plant and grow stuff. So this is really about intensive weeding. Please reply only if you'd actually enjoy getting stuck in to this!

    Also, I need to paint one or two rooms in the house. So please get in touch if you've (reasonably skilled, non-messy) decorating experience!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, and basic French & German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I've several spare bedrooms, from which you can take your pick. Otherwise there's a huge living room with a good kitchen, a play room with cinema screen & Netflix, a huge whirlpool bath and a good shower room, plus two gardens with lots of fruit and veg growing in them. I'm reasonably well off so happy to stock the fridge and maybe share in making meals. Please note that I'm not veggie, so please don't apply if that's a problem for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'd only expect perhaps a couple of hours help per day (on average). So you'll have plenty of time for your own stuff, whether this is to find a job and a flat of your own, explore this lovely city while passing through, or enjoy the peace and quiet to get on with writing that novel. The local shops & buses are great, or it's just 20-30 minutes walk into the town centre.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day


Host ref number: 987957347636