Another pair of hands needed at the Isle of Luing, near Oban, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 544 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    112

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    For me home is at the Isle of Luing on the West coast of Scotland, a 3 minute ferry trip and a15 mile bus ride to Oban, the nearest town. I work at home as a designer of wooden sailboats.

    The house is set in a couple of acres on the water's edge in a quiet location, a vegetarian household, no smoking/drinking. The island has 160 other inhabitants, mostly 2 miles away or more, so life is very quiet. The island has a tiny store.

    You will have plenty of spare time. There is scope on the island for exploring, walking or using our bikes.... even the occasional sailing trip if the sun shines, the wind blows and the tide is right.

    I occasionally travel to the USA where I support a voluntary boatbuilding project. Back at home on the Isle of Luing the house always needs maintenance and I have several projects underway....

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have travelled extensively, and enjoy sharing my place here with other travellers. I'm happy and patient helping you with your English (although I live in Scotland I do speak BBC English). A long time ago I studied Law & Economics and became an Accountant, but retired aged 27 and have enjoyed every creative day since as a yacht designer/boatbuilder!

  • Help

    Help

    Completed 2018 with the help of Workawayers:

    Plumbing & fitting out (another) bathroom, completing a wooden deck,


    This year 2019, to do:

    Fitting (another) kitchen.... one already finished, another started....
    Building a wooden boathouse....
    Small trees to be felled and logged for fuel....
    Grass & Bracken cutting during the growing season.

    Help is always needed... construction projects, housework, sharing the cooking and gardening when the weather allows.

    Projects are more fun with someone else about, and a second pair of hands always useful.

    You will have plenty of time for you to enjoy the surroundings... wildlife, stunning scenery!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable private bedroom & bathroom. (Much of the house is a spacious open plan, your bedroom has a partial sea view)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Pastimes: Walking, Cycling, Sailing and making Music (I have and play several guitars to share). The Island is just 10km long, and transport on the mainland is limited. We are 25km from the nearest town, 4 hours from Glasgow by bus or train. I sometimes drive south for the weekend or longer, to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Selkirk or the Lake District in England. I also make a weekly trip to Oban to collect food.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 or 3 hours a day

Someone I met on an Art Trail in the Scottish Boarders....
I have a few extra bikes...
Helping Maria (from Chile) with English
The weather can sometimes be perfect!
The weather can be wild here in the winter!
Luing and surrounding islands, from the mainland. CLICK to ENLARGE
The house & garden. CLICK to ENLARGE
An Cala, Isle of Luing. CLICK to ENLARGE









Host ref number: 982483369641