Discover Forest & Permaculture Gardening in Mailberg, Austria

updated
Country

Austria

Favourited 227 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Joey, Lisa, our 4 year old son Eli and 1,5 years old daughter Luana.
    We live in a village called Mailberg with about 550 inhabitants in the north of Austria.
    The village lays within a valley with grape yards all around and on the highest hill is a forest.

    We have a 400 m² garden in the village which is being turned into an edible forest garden with a greenhouse to grow seedlings and propagate. We have 1900 m² forest which we are turning into an edible forest garden as well. We create forest gardens by adding biodiversity. We also maintain another 1100 m² of orchard poly-culture.

    We try to use as much as possible resources directly from the land to create projects, such as hügelculture, terraces and ponds. We tend to avoid using plastics.

    We grow mushrooms. They get grown from start to finish. We grow mycelium using sterile conditions.

    We keep honey bees. We let them build their own wax and survive the winter on honey.

    We have 2 lovely dogs who enjoy long walks.

    Lisa works part-time in a high-end restaurant as cook.
    Joey works part-time in a walnut tree nursery.
    Eli & Luana love to play!
    We are vegetarians.

    All our produce is 100% organic and maintained after the principles of Permaculture.

    The minimum stay for volunteers is at least 2 weeks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn to see the interconnection in between flora & fauna.
    You learn about landscaping, forest gardening, beekeeping, fungi, permaculture, cooking, child raising and more.

  • Help

    Help

    There are many things that we could use help with.

    Winter is the time for Carpentry, Felling trees, growing mushrooms and more.

    In February we start pruning trees.

    For Spring and summer we need help with sowing, weeding, planting, mulching, scything, harvesting and more.

    In Mai we go to a plant trade market, for which we dig up young (wild) plants.

    In any time of the year:

    Playing with our children

    We would like to have a design from our lands. Together we could create a balanced poly-cultural plan.

    We need more ponds, swales and terraces.
    Since the forest is quite steep we create terraces with wood as a support.

    The processing of different herbs, fruits, nuts and vegetables.

    We want to build a campsite in the forest like a shelter, fireplace, wood storage etc. Using the materials from the land.

    Using living trees we want to make play houses for the children. We would like more children friendly structures.
    We would like to make our house beautiful, on one side of the house we want to paint a big tree.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Austrian (German), Dutch, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a living- and a sleeping house. There is one room in which there is a bunk bed. In the living house there is a shower and a kitchen.
    Luana sleeps in the midday, both around 8 PM. Which means that the sleeping house needs to be quiet during those moments.

    We breakfast in between 7 and 7:30 We have a lot of amazing things to eat and drink. Kombucha, sourdough bread, smoothies, cake, jams, sauces, fruits, vegetables, conserves, all home made with a lot of our own produce. We provide at least 1 warm meal a day. Normally during midday, sometimes in the evening. In the evening, depending on the hunger, we create another meal or we 'snack' (eating fruits, vegetables and/or nuts)

    Note: The only meat 'in the house' is for our dogs which stays outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bicycles. Everything surrounding Mailberg has very little hills, so bicycling is pleasant and there are nice routes.

    Mailberg has a beautiful forest to enjoy

    There is a bus on a 5 minute walk that goes every few hours to the next city (Hollabrunn or Laa an der Thaya). The train is by car 20 minute away. We can bring and/or pick you up at the trainstation.
    The train to Vienna is about an hour and to the first city in Czech (Znojmo) about half an hour.

    About 1 time per week we go to the next city (Hollabrunn or Laa an der Thaya) (20km) to do some groceries.

    Since this is the wine quarter of Austria, there are very good wines to be found here. Some wine-cellars are open to visitors.

    The village is a very quiet place that doesn't have any night life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Swales
Building Terraces from Natural Materials
Beekeeping in the forest
Places of living and cultivation In Mailberg
Our Honey
Wall of Roses at our Home Garden
Harvest Time!
Welcome in our Streetgarden! Without the help of workawayers we wouldn't be so far.
Our village garden in September
Working with the scythe is fun!
Our insect hotel
Our village garden in May
It's us! In our home garden
Laika (up) & Nino
The castle of Mailberg
















Host ref number: 942795495362