Help in our house as a B&B in Edinburgh while upcycling, Edinburgh, Scotland

Favourited 713 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    22/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ We are also looking for someone to be in South of Italy over Christmas and New Year (about 3 weeks) with Ve, Amelie and Pablo. Tasks requested are looking after the kids (10 and 4), cooking and some cleaning *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️

    We are a multicultural family of 4, an Italian and a white Jamaican, two kids English and Scottish, 11 and 4 years old. We live in the heart of Edinburgh in a six bedroom Victorian house split over three floors.

    After almost three years in trading now our B&B is blooming, with all three rooms to capacity. We are currently seeking helpers to assist in all daily activities and chores in running the B & B.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    After almost three years in trading now our B&B is blooming, with all three rooms to capacity. We are currently seeking helpers to assist in all daily activities and chores in running the B & B. These include but are not limited to changing linens, dusting, vacuuming, cleaning showers, mopping, sweeping and refilling room essentials. These duties take priority over anything else while staying with us. It will take about one week for you to be properly trained on our processes and daily workload. On a typical day, it will take 3 to 4 hours to complete your B & B tasks. Some helpers that are more efficient can get these done in less time. If you complete these tasks in less time, there are a myriad of opportunities for other projects. Learning skills and helping in other areas such as with the children or artistic projects.

    When helpers stay with our family, they become part of it. This is not the best opportunity for those looking just for accommodation without any interaction. We eat family meals together, share stories and make friends.

    If you are looking to learn skills like time management, attention to detail and efficiency as well as improve your English, learn about other cultures and explore Edinburgh, this may be the right fit for you.

    We offer a mix of shared and solo accommodation (depending on availability) as well as family meals and a warm welcome into our home and family.

    We need people who are responsible and hardworking.

    PLEASE SPECIFY ARRIVAL DATE AND LENGTH OF STAYING WHEN APPLYING.

    We can be quite flexible with some hours, as long as the daily responsibilities of the B & B are covered. Usually, the minimum placement we can offer is 6 weeks. Ideally we’d like to take volunteers for a minimum of 8 weeks - or even more, as we would love you to really feel part of our family :) However, we are happy to be more flexible if you are only wanting to stay a short period of time and come for a specific project. But really, who wants to spend less than a few weeks in one of the most beautiful cities in the world?!

    If you have any of the following special skills and would like to discuss staying with us:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️Carpentry
    *️️️️️️️️️️️Marketing
    *️️️️️️️️️️️Social Media
    *️️️️️️️️️️️Upholstery & Sewing
    *️️️️️️️️️️️Metalwork
    *️️️️️️️️️️Electrician

    We have two private rooms for Workawayers and always overlap arrival/departure dates. We will never ask you to help above your average 25 hours per week. However, we always encourage volunteers to get involved if they wish, and this opens up a lot more opportunity to get a real experience on skills and improve your language if needed. Please explain your interests as much as you can, specify arrival date and the skills you can offer! Due to the high amount of requests, we sometimes do not manage to reply to everybody straight away. If you are lucky and we think you'd be a great fit you will get a chance!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We love food, so you will always get a delicious homemade meal. You will have your own bedroom and a shared bathroom. There is unlimited Wi-Fi that you are welcome to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Edinburgh offers amazing attraction, both city life and country style... home to the world\'s largest Arts festival.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will give you the opportunity to learn different tasks and gain understanding and experience in various fields. We will help you to improve your English. Spending the tourist season with us is a great experience for anyone looking for a culturally enriching volunteering experience, while also learning about customer needs and travel industry and becoming a member of a team.

    Edinburgh is an increasingly popular tourist destination, with a rich cultural heritage, gorgeous nature, and a thriving nightlife as well as a strong festival culture. Interacting with travellers from all over the globe is guaranteed to be a rich and fulfilling experience. 

    You will also have a unique opportunity to interact with the local community, learn about the history and way of life, and get a full cultural immersion experience.\n\nWe have had volunteers from all over the world stay with us and everyone here believes in promoting cultural exchange and learning new skills. 

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album


















Host ref number: 935136147769