Favourited 329 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


Contact Register


  • Description


    We are situated on a cattle station just inland of the Whitsundays. We run mainly Brahman cattle although we have a Stud herd of Bazadais cattle which originated in France. I have two small children and a pretty hectic life. I compete locally at Endurance Horse Rides, Western Pleasure and Harness events.

    Over the coming months I have a few horses to get ready for shows for both Harness and Western. If time allows I break (start) my own horses from an unhanded horse to a nice riding horse. I have a Harness trek coming up where we will be driving in harness a couple of ponies over a period of a week, camping out each night at a different location. There will be ample opportunity to ride and see some really lovely country. Experiences you will never forget.

    With two small impressionable children we do request No smokers, neither my husband, myself or other employees smoke and we do appreciate the clean air. Also being on a cattle station our diet consists of a fair amount of meat (beef, goat, sheep, pork & chicken), this is something that vegetarians need to consider prior to coming to stay with us.

    We do also at times have a position available to assist with the children and household chores, whilst this person would not spend as much time with the horses they definately will get the opportunity to ride one of steady horses kept for this purpose, this position is perfect for those who are unable to stay as long who have not had the riding experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help


    Daily Routine involves all aspects of horse care, groundwork, grooming, saddling/unsaddling, schooling, distance conditioning, strapping, feeding & watering of horses and picking up of poop. Plus as we are also a cattle station you may be required to assist with working of the cattle and feeding of various farm animals or other jobs essential to the animal’s wellbeing.

    Depending on the time of year you are intending on staying you will have the opportunity to learn;
    • Foal handling,
    • Starting of horses using Horsemanship skills based on western riding principals,
    • Training and showing of horses for Western showing,
    • All aspects of distance condition and training, feeding etc of endurance horses,
    • Ride our horses through all terrains in the bush, cross creeks and mountains every day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    In exchange you will be accommodated in your own fully furnished bedroom, with shared bathroom & lounge room, dvd, stereo, books and magazines (mostly horsy). Food and specialist horse riding equipment will be supplied however we suggest to bring your own personal riding helmet, boots, jodhpurs and light cotton long sleeved shirts.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our property is 30,000 acres, we live 40km away from the nearest township, whilst we do venture into town for shopping etc once a week or so this means there are no shops, nightclubs, mobile phone reception or people nearby. This position is best situated to people who enjoy the quite life spending time with nature and horses. Sometimes you will get the chance to go sightseeing, camping, fishing and to experience the past times unique to outback Australia. We are not far from the Whitsunday Islands where day trips and island cruises can be arranged at a cost.

    Cleve, myself and our two toddler aged children both work on the property, we work very had with Cleve often having to work away on other family properties, we are friendly, down-to-earth, genuine people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


My Photo Album

Host ref number: 834969244993