Lots of interesting projects to help out with around our campsite in the heart of North Devon, UK

Favourited 48 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


Contact Register


  • Description


    My family and I live on and run a campsite in the heart of north Devon, about 45 minutes from Exeter. The campsite is set in 20 acres of neglected deciduous woodland that we are currently in the process of managing in attempts to increase bio-diversity and create an overall more healthy habitat. The site is a disused railway station, and connects with the ruby way cycle route. I didn't want to write to much on here but if you have any questions i am more than happy to answer them!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Help


    Okay so here is the kind of place where there is always something to be done, having done a few workaways myself i understand the variation of tasks makes things much more interesting!

    Renovating a 1920's Norwegian train carriage.
    The main project for this year is to renovate the Norwegian train carriage, primarily sanding down the outside and then applying danish oil to preserve and revive the beautiful teak wood. I have begun this process already and so far have found it to be very rewarding to see the massive improvement just from sanding off the old varnish and uncovering the lovely honey coloured teak below.

    Building a wood fired pizza oven!
    Here at hole station we have a cafe for the customers and would like to expand this with a pizza oven, this is something i have not done before so any prior knowledge would be greatly appreciated but not required (if all else fails google will know!).

    Here we try to have a very productive garden, we currently have 8 raised beds so as you can imagine there is always something to be done for those with green fingers and being a gardener myself i am always happy to teach those who are willing to learn!

    General maintenance.
    As i said there is always something to be done here, ranging from putting up fences to digging ditches and everything in between.


  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, very basic french

  • Accommodation


    Camping! if you have your own tent there is always plenty of space to pitch up and if you don't we are happy to provide you with one.You will have use of the campsite showers and toilet block (compost loos) We will provide 2 meals a day either prepared by myself or you can eat from the cafe.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    please bear in mind that we live 10 miles from the nearest place you might call a town, so if your looking for a heaving night life then maybe this isn't the place for you, however if you enjoy peace and quiet we have armloads to spare! As for things to do there are many beautiful walks/bike rides to be taken advantage of here along with local pubs, archery, markets or just spending time chilling by the fire!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Right, as i said the tasks here are extremely varied so you can hope to gain a wide range of skills from your time at hole station. I am a gardener/handyman by trade so can and am very happy to teach all that i can in these areas, including but not limited too basic carpentry, planting, maintaining and harvesting fruit and veg from a productive garden. I also have a great interest in all forms of natural/sustainable building techniques and their practical applications, i spent 3 months in france and spain last year doing workaways on straw bale builds and i helped out renovating an old watermill using drystone walling techniques.

    Depending on what time of year you come to help out there is also alot we can teach you about managing a woodland and the many ways to improve the land you live on! If you have done workaways before im sure you already know it is all about exchanging skills so i imagine we have as much to learn from you as you can from us!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 833419819838