Help us to turn a newly planted wood into an eco space for wild life protection in Lockerbie, Scotland

Favourited 105 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    19/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a family concern where we are hoping to turn a seven acre newly planted wood into an eco space for wild life protection and some food crops.

    We are totally eco warriors though very new to a major project.

    We have started work but could use some help from a like minded person.
    It would be helpful to have workaways that have done some gardening and who can use small power tools.
    There are four areas of activity.
    1. Garden, fruit, vegetables and some flowers.
    Weeding, watering, composting etc.

    2. Woodland area.
    Management of trees, paths, wildlife habitat
    3. Estate management. Work on the walls, boundaries, paths, drainage etc

    4. The buildings. maintenance of sheds, out door office, drains etc

    So could you let me know if you have experience in any of these areas as it is a big help to decide which of you to respond to. We really need people with a bit of experience.

    We have a good life here, it is quiet but beautiful and everyone is friendly.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We are trying to create an eco wood with bee friendly plants, food plants and wild life protection in a seven acre field.

    Some work has already been done and we are ready for a new phase of the project.

    There will be a lot of physical outdoor task, some research to do, discussions to contribute to and various planting and general husbandry.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment there is a spare room in the family home but a cabin in the wood may shortly be available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a very rural area and there are only four buses a day into the nearest small town. However there is a railway station with fast links to several cities. Our visitors have so far found that they get plenty of cultural input and improve their English.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a family home where people come and go and there is always something interesting going on. There are all ages here and we are all into organics, local produce, growing and protecting wild life. We often go into Edinburgh and Glasgow and travellers will learn about rural life in Scotland and city life.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Henk and Liset clearing out the pond.
Marian and Alba making a wild flower bed in the wood.
Jorge working on the log pile.
It would be fabulous to have a workaway who knows edible fungi.
The trees are much taller now.













Host ref number: 828918389948