Natural building and ecological, organic farming in Vas, Hungary.

updated
Country

Hungary

Favourited 351 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a young belgian couple, Wouter (35) and Leen (30) with a 4 months old boy, Emil . Since 6 years we are living our dream. Having a smallscale selfsustainable farm. We love growing our own food and build our own buildings, work hard and being our own boss.
    Vegetable garden, our own cheese, dairyproducts, mushroom growing, ...
    The more local the economy, the better. So ideally if all comes from your own ground.
    We do believe this world could be a better place. But we choose not to scream out that it all has to chance, but rather do it... If you believe something has to be different, do it differently ;)

    We have a smallscale cheesefarm, with 5 beautifull jerseycows. This delicious cheese we're selling at the local farmersmarket.

    At this moment our biggest project is the strawbale house we are building.

    We are looking for volunteers who are, in the first place, nice people. We expect people to be interested, taking initiative, seeing what work needs to be done, thinking together with us about solutions.
    We find the best thing about Workaway the exchange of experiences. We learn something from you, you learn something from us. That's were its all about...

    Be carefull, because if you want to come to our place (especcially in winter), you should know life can be pretty though here :) Getting up early in the morning, working hard all day, 'back to basic' -lifestyle, no phone-reception/internet, no running water (in winter), ...
    But off course, all of that is also very nice! At least if you think the same as us ;)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Smallscale farming, selfsustainable living, gardening, taking care of dairy cows, cheese making, natural building.

  • Help

    Help

    Loads of projects always pop up, so never know in advance what we are going to do next week :) Natural building, gardening, taking care of the cows,...
    At the moment we are mainly building our new strawbale house. Lots of work goes in to this one, besides the cheesemaking and taking care of the cows.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, english, german, french, hungarian..

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cob roundhouse where you stay. As said, in winter there is no running water, and it is heated with a woodstove.
    We ask volunteers to cook for theirselfs. We provide al you need (vegetarian) and you can cook it in your own kitchen.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

















Host ref number: 818518485856