Help with building and gardening projects in Gers, France

Country

France

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/03/2017

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have been living here in the Gers for the last 17 years with my 4 children (just 2 living at home now - son of 20 and a daughter of 17) and a beautiful stone built farmhouse circa 1807 is our home. We have 2 dogs, 4 cats, a Vietnamese pot-bellied pig called Peggy, 6 Gascon pigs, dozens of chickens, a rabbit and 3 poneys that have 4 hectares around the house.

    I work from home and would love some skilled help for certain building projects, both small and more substantial! The house is comfortable though there are many things that need finishing, like rendering and plastering walls, help with insulating and placing plasterboard ceilings, changing roof tiles, pruning trees, cutting and splitting wood. There is also a big barn and chai (where the Armagnac used to be made) in need of restoration a pigeonnier, and a swimming pool.

    It is in a pretty rural and peaceful location surrounded by vines and cereals and 1 km from the local village of just 55 inhabitants. There are no amenities in this village and the closest shops and post office are about 7 kms away.

    We speak English at home but are perfectly happy to speak French if anyone wanted to improve or learn the language.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Building work, rendering walls, plastering, roofing, insulation, gardening, pruning, sawing and splitting wood and general maintenance. It really needs someone with appropriate skills as I don't have the expert knowledge myself or indeed much time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bedroom with shared bathroom. We have a sitting room where everyone joins together to watch television and we have an excellent library of DVDs and music.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport is definitely a problem here so it would be best if you have your own. We do have a scooter and helmet that can be used for getting around and I would be prepared to insure it. All you would need to do is add the petrol.

    It is very rural area and peaceful so perfect for those wanting a change of scene needing to recharge batteries, paint or write - there is always plenty of wonderful things to visit here and many events that get underway once the cloak of winter has faded. The town of Condom is just 14 kms away and the area's capital Auch just 32kms. Rugby is a big part of the scene here and my son plays regularly. This is a region steeped in history full of pretty fortified villages and beautiful scenery with a view of the Pyrenees that are about 2.5 hours away. Wine and Armagnac is a big part of life here as is good eating and having fun. Throughout the summer there are fêtes and festivals in every village. Although it is quite isolated, there are bars, pubs, night clubs and lovely restaurants to be discovered within easy distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 818421629737