Familial ecoproject in a natural reserve near Escárcega, Mexico

updated
Country

Mexico

Favourited 147 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    512

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hola!
    I'm Lazaro and I'm working with my family on a project to create a natural reserve for the conservation of biodiversity of the tropical forest.
    We think that climate change and the loss of biodiversity are real and that we can all have an impact to avoid it. We hope our project can be a solution to preserve our local wealth but we need more ideas and help from everyone in the world sensitive to the protection of the environment.

    This project is located in the heart of Campeche's jungle, but we are also located 5 minutes away from the town of Escarcega, next to the high way 186, kilometer 4.8 in the direction Escarcega-Chetumal. So we are a perfect intermediate stop between Palenque and the Riviera Maya.

    I live in the reserve with my family: my wife, our five children and our three dogs.

    Here we rent cabañas and we have a site for camping.
    But we have a bigger project and we need help to build it : create a UMA natural reserve (Unit of Environmental Management) to conserve the forest and to sensibilise travellers to its protection.
    We also have various animals such as sheeps, chickens, and sometimes deers.

    We also want to ride the project as an opportunity to know other cultures from all over the world and to learn and practice English and French.
    We don't speak English very well but we would be glad to also welcome volunteers who don't speak Spanish and to teach them Spanish. This would be a great opportunity to benefit from each other.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer to teach you the daily activities in this natural reserve (planting vegetables for example) and to learn more about its flore and fauna.

    You can also learn about environmental monitoring (foto trampeo), or practice outdoor activities such as archery.

    You can choose to camp in the natural reserve.

    You can learn and practice Spanish because you will be immerged in the everyday life of our family.

    You can also visit other sites near Escárcega like the cenote Miguel Colorado or Calakmul, one of the biggest natural reserves of Mexico with really impressive pyramids. It represents an important part of the Mayan culture.

  • Help

    Help

    WORK DESCRIPTION :
    We need help for the general maintenance in the farm, such as clearing the camping trails, cleaning the cabañas, feeding the animals...
    But also ideas to improve the camping site and the development of our ecotourism project, such as advertising.
    Also we need classes of English and French for the whole family !

    DETALLES DEL TRABAJO: apoyarme en las actividades diarias que tienen que ver con la limpieza de senderos, cabañas, ayudar a dar de comer a los animales domésticos, recorrer el perímetro de la propiedad, etc.

    Volunteers work around 4 hours per day. We provide you lodging, food, wifi and offer Spanish practice. Feel free to contact us so that we can give you more details about your stay and the conditions of the workaway.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Español

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can come here alone or in couple, there are different possibilities for your accomodation: you can stay in a cabaña (in the camping site) or get a tent to stay in the camping. In both cases you always have access to water, electricity and privacy.

    DETALLES DEL HOSPEDAJE: si los voluntarios vienen en pareja se les designa una casa en el área de acampado (Campíng) o en una tienda de campaña. Si viene solo se le asigna una cabaña para dormír. En ambos casos tiene derecho a agua, electricidad y privacidad.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are an intermediate point between Palenque and the Riviera Maya. It's a perfect compromise to relax in contact with the nature and also pretty inexpensive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 786414455265