Help set up an eco campsite in Vera, Andalucia

updated

Favourited 259 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    21/04/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    892

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a vision – I love travelling but want to limit the impact it has on our environment. I need affordability but also sustainability. I love places with a sense of community. But as it can be hard to find, I am establishing a camp site that fits my ethos.
    I’m a Londoner, passionate about the environment and travelling. I speak Spanish, am involved in the Green Party and I am an active environmentalist. I have run several successful environmental projects, including establishing and running a rocket composter on an inner city housing estate, delivering sustainable living workshops for school-kids and organising Green Fairs and festivals.
    I have land in Spain with permission to build and I need help turning my vision into a reality – a campsite ready for business. I don’t want a glamorous “eco-retreat”. I want affordable camping for travellers. I would like facilities built with sustainable materials and powered by renewable energy, compost toilets, a vegetable garden, fixed bell tents for shared dormitories, pitches for those who have their own tents, campervans or caravans and a social space for cooking and relaxing.
    Work started in November 2017 and will continue for several months. I am hoping for the building license in April, which will be when the main work will start, but there is plenty of preparation to do before then. I will need help throughout the whole process. Accommodation is provided in a bell tent, but if you have your own tent, caravan or motorhome, you are welcome to park on the land.
    As I am at the beginning of the project, the living situation is very basic. There is no mains electricity or wifi, but there are cafés nearby with access. I am living in a motorhome with a solar panel, which can charge basic gadgets. Although this situation will develop, it might take a while.
    Please do not apply if you do not have a permit to work in Europe - I cannot help with visas.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    I’m looking for people with experience in sustainable techniques, such as solar installation and permaculture, as well as people with traditional skills in building, plumbing and electrics. I also need people to help with cooking for volunteers, gardening, marketing and web design.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can provide accommodation in bell tents, but if you have your own tent, caravan or motorhome, you are welcome to park up on the land.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The land is a 10 minute walk from the town of Vera, which has good public transport links, banks, supermarkets, etc. It is a 10 minute drive to the nearest beach, where you will find a long, beautiful coastline, with plenty of activities, bar and restaurants. Other nearby attractions include Tabernas, with its 'Mini-Hollywood' where many spaghetti westerns are filmed, and the beautiful Cabo de Gata national park, with a range of untouched beaches. There are also facilities for go-karting, horse-riding and a water park nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What’s in it for you?
    Great work experience in beautiful surroundings with the opportunity to learn Spanish. I can provide a reference, accommodation in a bell tent and vegetarian food on helping days. There is the possibility of long-term work in the future.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 6 days a week, flexible

My Photo Album

Helpers mucking in!
The camp
Vera town
Vera town
One of the bell tents









Host ref number: 779977347675