Come and help with gardening and language practice in Liverpool, UK

updated
Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    302

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Lorna (39) and Max (52) and we live with our children (9 and 5) in a large 5 bedroom house in Stanley which is a suburb of Liverpool. We have a large garden and good wifi. We are very close to the bus stop and it takes around 10 minutes to Liverpool city centre. We are an English/American/German family and we speak English, German and French plus some basic Icelandic and Spanish. Max has a flexible schedule and is usually at home during the day, Lorna works full time as an analyst and the children are usually at school. Lorna has a PhD in Philosophy and we all like to have interesting discussions. We have previously lived in Germany and the USA, and have separately lived in Iceland and Ireland.

    We are interested in lots of different things and look forward to learning about you too. We are also friends with other local hosts, which is how we came to hear about it.

    Liverpool is a wonderful, beautiful and friendly city. There are lots of museums, art galleries and interesting buildings, and also many restaurants, bars and cafes. There are 3 universities and several college and language schools which offer language courses if you want to do an English class. We like to go to the beach when we can and would love to include you in our family adventures. We like to find fun and unusual things to do and enjoy them all together - we want to make memories. We like to maintain a reasonably eco-friendly lifestyle and are teaching this to our children.

    We do not smoke and do not accept smokers. We prefer shorter to longer stays at the moment.

    We have recently moved into our house and have a list of small and larger painting and decorating and general maintenance jobs to do and some creative projects that you might want to help us with. General cleaning and housework is always welcome. We cook dinner every night and like to bake, but if you can cook and would like to share your cooking with us that is a bonus! We do eat meat but love to cook vegetarian as we have both been vegetarian or vegan at different times. We can accommodate vegetarian diets easily but if you're vegan you may need to provide some of your own food. We are definitely a work in progress sort of house and if you're happy to join in with whatever needs doing you'll probably really enjoy it here.

    We would also welcome someone who could help us with garden maintenance and work, and we would be very happy to have someone who can speak German, especially with our children. If you have other skills please let us know as we're open to suggestions! We've said we'll host one person at a time but are also happy to meet couples, two girls or families.

    We are usually very happy to relax in the evenings as we are very busy during the day - the house is noisy in the morning, quiet during the day, very noisy in the evenings and very peaceful once the children have gone to bed.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone creative who is can help in the garden and are really interested in language exchange. We have an ongoing list of general decorating and maintenance jobs and would also like to do some outdoor creativity with mosaics and a children's den - this could be from found or reclaimed materials.

    If you have any other skills that you think might be useful then let us know. We are open to suggestions.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are plenty of free museums and galleries in Liverpool, 2 cathedrals, 2 football stadia, a red squirrel reserve, and a beautiful coastline. If you are an artist you can of course take photos of your work for your portfolio.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, French, Spanish, Icelandic

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom - the bedroom is on a different floor of the house to the family so you will have some quiet if you prefer it, but you are welcome to join in with the family.

    We can offer a friendly, laid-back home, space to socialise or be alone as you wish, and a base to explore our wonderful city.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We want to be flexible and friendly and for you to have a positive experience with us - we can be quite noisy but value our quiet evenings - you are welcome to join us or to find some quiet when you need it!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 771223752727