Help with a Rural Appalachian American Farm

Country

United States

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    60

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings! My name is Nicholas. English is my primary language, but I learn Spanish. I live with my family in the Appalachian Mountains in, West Virginia, of the United States. It is a three bedroom home that I share with one of my sisters with space for one more. I live within a mile of much a my family; so, family is very important. I try to be mindful in life; meditating, exercising, and eating appropriately are all part of my daily routine. Any time left, I work to improve life for those that I can and myself.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is difficult to answer. I don't know many cultures outside of my own. Rural America may be like many other rural areas of the world, but I'm certain there are distinctions. But the Appalachians are a treasure, there is no place like it (that I've seen). The land is peaceful and most beautiful. Outdoor activities are second to none here.

  • Help

    Help

    Travelers will have much work to choose from; for I farm, I mechanic, I build, and I learn languages and music; so, if you have ability or potential, we have work to do.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English; poor Spanish; poor Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    "Workawayers" will have their own room and bed with plenty of space for personal belongings within the house. The house has three bedrooms, where I and another already live. The common spaces are comfortably sized and have standard amenities, full kitchen, bath, dining, and living rooms. Internet is complicated (ask for more details). Food is no issue, if one is willing to work.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off. If you enjoy peace and calm environments, then the sky is the limit. The outdoors provide much to do, such as: hunting, hiking, camping, biking, skiing, snowboarding, swimming, fishing, and canoeing. Many activities depend on the season, so plan accordingly. Now, if you enjoy the hustle and bustle of city life, options are very limited, but there are cities that neighbor our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 1-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The yard (from the porch) on the side of the hill.
Empty bedroom; full size bed and plenty of space for possessions.
Dining room; (with homemade wine in the corner).
El baño
The common space; where we have conversation and play music
Mi cocina. It is small, but it works, especially if you know how to use it.
Mi casa.
Host ref number: 755878148622