Help on a rustic farm by the West Norwegian coast

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/06/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    My boyfriend and I are now renting an old, and very rustic farm in Stongfjord in Western Norway, Lill have been a traveler all her life, and now when she stopped travel she like the idea of the world coming to her. Also been a host on Couch surfing for years, so she happy to host. John is new to hosting, and there is a language barrier as he speak very little English.We have just got this place, it is huge,old, worned down, rustic, dirty an completely wonderful. We are also car addict, into 2CV, also our 2CV are rustic, tired and completely wonderful:) So you will get a chance for some funny road trips if weather is good. Our health sometimes create variations in our energy level,some days we do not make it out of bed or couch so be prepared to be independent.
    We are looking for several volunteers. We like to have 2 volunteers staying here at the same time, Some to help for my boyfriend with what ever needed to be done outside. One to help with the day to day cleaning of the home,like bathroom,kitchen and living room. But also we want two here at the same time so you can go exploring this wonderful nature together.We follow the nature, the weather an the seasons.
    We hope you like to stay between 2 and 4 weeks.
    Couples are welcome, we are also gay friendly.
    Welcome!:)

    Spesial add for July:

    We need someone to help with housework and looking after the animals in July.
    July is a busy month with lots of friends visiting, that also means lots of cleaning and dishes, but also lots of fun.
    Couples welcome:)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the help we need help with is labor. Picking rock, cleaning up old branches,taking down trees, etc Outside the barn need serious restoring, so those this old lumber house. The fields an forest are overgrown, there are a lot of tasks to be done outside . A person who know to handle a chain saw and cut down trees a very much welcome. Doing dishes and cooking are not considered as volunteering, but being a part of the family. We got the most spoiled baby sheep in the world, he need a lot of love and care.Also we have 5 chickens an 3 cats, so you must love animals to stay here. Collecting wild herbs and drying them for soap making. Making a vegetable/fruit garden and picking weed. So many fun and interesting things we want to do, and since bout have health limitations, we really hope you will join our extended work away family and help make our dream come true. We really treasure that! Some days there will long hours, other days less or not all and we all take time to enjoy life.
    It is important that you understand that you will live in and be a part of a family, and follow our rhythm. It is a private home . We do not have organized week work plans.The organized life is what we have wanted to leave behind.



    To find us:
    We are located 2.5 hours north of Bergen.
    You can reach us with the local boat from Bergen to Askvoll.
    Or bus from Bergen or Oslo to Førde, and bus from Førde to Stongfjord, where we pick you up

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English, Scandinavian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    PEOPLE:
    You will be a part of our family.You will have your own bed, but sometimes you must share room when we got friends over,warm showers, couch surfers, family...what ever. Once in the summer we have a big summer feast, at that weekend you will have to camp outside in tent,even if it is pouring rain. Cause we give the beds to the older friend with bad backs, or family with kids that are visiting. This is a happy House.
    WELCOME TO THE HOUSE,, BROTHERS AND SISTERS, LOVERS,SNORERS,MOTHER AND FATHERS!!! This is a place for laughing, so come laugh and work with us:)

    DAY OFF:
    You will ALWAYS have Sundays off. If you stay one month we make sure you have 4 days off during that time for traveling on your own.
    We work some days long days, some days half days, and some days we give you off a sunny day as a bonus.

    LANGUAGE:
    It is a MUST that you speak and understand English well,unless you speak Scandinavian!

    CLOTHING:
    The house can be chilly, the weather rainy. So remember to bring good,waterproof clothes and shoes! But it can also be wonderful hot summer days.

    TEMPERATURE IN BEDROOM:
    You WILL be cold in winter time, we can promise you that. The house is a old timber house without modern isolation.
    Good news is that we provide you with a hot water bottle in your bed. But it you can NOT stand the cold...this is not your place.

    FOOD:
    Our food is simple, and traditional. A typical Norwegian diet is open sandwiches with filling for breakfast,lunch and evening meal. Our only hot dish is dinner.Please do not expect daily fresh bread, we hate to waste food, so we finish it all. And we are far away from the shop. Lill am not the best cook, but she try. So taking turns in cooking is nice .John is a great Chef. We like to have meals all together:) We are meat and fish eaters in our every day life, if you are a VEGETARIAN you will NOT like it here. We expect you to also take part in cooking and doing dishes.....this is not work but you just being a part of our household.

    TOBACCO:
    John smoke inside the house, in the living room and kitchen so it is important that you are not allergic to tobacco smoke. We are TOTALLY against any kind of narcotic drug use as we are natural high on life.

    INTERNET AND TV:
    Here is NO WIFI, just so you know:) And we got only one TV channel.


    TOILET AND SHOWER:

    We must also warn you that out toilet facility is a camping toilet....not first class,but it works.So if your nose is tender,this is not the place for you:) Please do expect hot showers only two times a week..They managed with out every day showers in the old days,so do we:) We sometime are out of water...and we also consider it as a waste of water and electricity ,and not healthy to shower every day. Unless you have done hard and dirty work and earned one. If we are out of water,you can simply jump in the fjord:)

    So you see if you want comfort and a moderne life with all is luxuries,this is so NOT your place. But if you want adventure,friendship,laughter,hard work, getting dirty and smelly,nature, tranquility and sometimes kaos this might be the place you want to be. At least you are most welcome to join the Blue House extended family:)

    REMEMBER:

    Remember to sign up for a travel and health insurance. You never know what can happen.

    What else:

    Many ask what to bring for us as hosts. So we say if it would be nice if you bring a book in your mother tongue , or a board game that would be nice. As we try to build up a "work away "library with books and games in different languages, for every one to use. Or just some food that are typical for your country. Wine or a bottle of your local beer is fine to:)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will get plenty of time off. We never work on Sundays, and in this area you can go hiking,biking,fishing,swimming. It is out in the middle of no where, and it is beautiful here:) Please talk to us if there is something during you stay that does not gives you good vibes so we can set it right:)We are 33 kilometers away from the nearest shop. We got only one TV Chanel, no internet at all.We got a couple of old fashion bikes that we can try to getting running for you to get around on. We always make sure that during your stay with us you got a 4 days off for traveling on your own:)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We welcome every one with a open mind. Our Blue House is happy place,so expect friends coming and going , and late nights talking shit and laughs over a bottle of wine, you are most welcome to bring some wine or beer to share at our table:) But there can also be absolute no one, and the silence out here in the middle of nowhere is wonderful. We are very easy going and laid back, so you better be to:) But laid back does not mean lazy,we try to get the job done and expect the same of you. Since you will be a family member you will learn about our culture.You got a fair chance to learn to fish, an prepare fish. Experience wild life just outside the door. Learning about wild herbs and benefits of them in cooking and coloring. For sure you will learn about our Trolls, Alfs, and all those other magic creatures that lives in our nature.
    So if you enjoy positiv kaos sometimes, sometimes complete silence, nature and every day something new happening in the nature just outside our doorstep, then this IS your place. Welcome

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photos


My Photo Album


Our very spoiled baby sheep and our wonderful Spanish work away "daughter":)
Just behind our house there is this trail ...
Harvest
Gone fishing
Catching dinner
Music and work goes hand in hand.We do not have a jukebox so you must make your own music.
Harvesting seaweed for soapmaking
Me
Sunsets...and time to relax and enjoy
Working to get water.
Bedroom view over the fjord
Us
Host ref number: 748136485532

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.