Come and help me with odd jobs around my self-catering holiday gîtes in St Paul en Gatine, France

Favourited 11 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    18/08/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a house in France with 2 gîtes attached (self-catering accommodation) and I have always done all the work myself with the help of an odd-job man once a week. I am now waiting for a hip replacement and am struggling to get anything done!! So I need some help!
    I speak good French so can help you if yours is rusty.
    I have a dog called Jeffery and I help look after my neighbours' 2 old horses.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    The main jobs are keeping the pool clean, gardening and cleaning the gîtes between clients. Although I have a heap of paving to lay and other semi building projects too. Someone might like to use my digger to get stumps up for example.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My guest bedroom has a double and a single bed and lots of space. There is a bathroom adjoining. I would cook one main meal a day, probably at night but maybe at lunchtime. Breakfast and the other meal would be on a help-yourself basis from the fridge/cupboards. I would find it difficult to cook for vegetarians as I keep a carb and sugar-free diet. If one of you wanted to cook I wouldn't object! I do not have a TV but there is WIFI and an old telly which can play DVDs

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's a lovely area of France, very rural and peaceful, an hour from the coast but only 40mins by car from Puy du Fou which is a fabulous day out. There are lots of other lovely spots to visit for sightseeing, canoeing, punting.
    I can come and pick you up at a station (Niort perhaps) if you come without your own transport.
    There is no local transport so a car is a must if you want to explore more than the local area on foot or by bike. 3km away there is a small town with a supermarket, and 4km away are go-karts and a treetop adventure park. (there are bikes you can borrow) If I happen to be going somewhere during your stay then you are welcome to come with me.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a member of a local association which aims to promote the area so I know it well. We have recently introduced a local currency to encourage small businesses and there are often events to publicise it. It is a good chance to practise and improve your French!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day max

My Photo Album

Fran, your host
This is the end of the guest room with the double bed
This is the end of the guest bedroom with the single bed. The door to the bathroom is round the corner
The front door and patio of one of the gîtes
The house, barn and grounds from the air. Good job I have a ride-on mower!
My neighbour giving a guest a ride on one of the horses



Host ref number: 742525422524