Enjoy the outdoors and Bavarian culture while helping us convert our coach into a camper, in Rosenhiem, Germany

Favourited 30 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    12/09/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    293

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I am Trevor, self-employed, married for 19 years to my wife. Together we have 7 kids, ages 5-19 years. We bought a coach 5 years ago and used it in on a sort of improvised set up. We now started to take it apart and want to put it back together, so we can go on trips all year round. Insulation, heating and all the stuff you need inside a big camper.
    We are low key individuals with a knack for good food, organically home grown produce and enjoy a good time in our old farmhouse. We are active, do-it-yourself kind of people and love the outdoors. Last Christmas I put in a small climbing wall (18ft. high) in our barn and there are always projects we like to think up.
    We are a non-smoker household and would like to keep it that way inside the house. The kids are all still in school. Our eldest will graduate next year.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building

  • Help

    Help

    We are a big family and have a big, big bus that we are converting to a motor home. Help includes everything regarding the interior workings. We started on the bus and are learning by doing. No special skills required other than being good with hadywork and enjoying it.
    The project is fun and that's how the working atmosphere is. There is no fixed schedule, although I like to work during daylight and have family dinners with the kids around 7 p.m. Apart from that, everything is pretty open. You might be doing some hours on your own, as I need to tend to my business, working from home.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, French, Swiss-German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will have a room for you, possibly for two people in our house. It's a bedroom within the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transportation is great. Trains, busses etc. You can also use one of our bicycles and go just about anywhere with it. The mountains are 20 Minutes away with lots of hiking, mountain bike trails, sailplane, sailing, white water kayaking, a lake for swimming just 5 Minutes by bike.
    Munich and Salzburg are a 35 Min. Trainride away with loads of cultural and urban activity. Universities etc. Rosenhiem is a town with a long tradition in craftsmanship esp. woodworking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a situalted in the heart of Bavaria. Rosenheim is a 15 Min. bikeride away, mountains, trails, lakes. You can be involved in local community, with us as a family and are within a 35 Mile reach of Salzburg, Kufstein and Munich. I am Swiss and American, my wife is German and French. We live in a 250 year old farmhouse together with our 7 kids, 6 Chicken and a cat.
    This is a big agricultural area with a focus on organic produce. It is a very active area with many oportunities and festivities.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photos


My Photo Album


Our old farmhouse.
The barn, tool shed and playground.
Our barn with the main house in the background.
The lake just around our house. Two of my kids chillin' at the "Strand Cafe".
20 Min. from home, this is a lovely high plateau.
My second oldest son loves riding trails. So we spent a few days in the austrian mountains.
Me and two of my boys busy balancing stones.
Tha BUS

Feedback






Host ref number: 739115512227