Helping us improve biodiversity on our farm of 140 acres on the coast of North East Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 202 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    303

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 40 somethings couple hailing from Scotland and South Africa with 2 young kids and relative new starts in farming!

    In 2017 we have taken on my dad's former arable farm of 140 acres here on the coast of North East Scotland and are full of ideas for change to make it more environmentally alive, sustainable, and financially viable - a tricky combo but very attainable, we just need a lot of help to get there! Whilst we accept sole responsibility for addressing the work relating to the commercial side of the business - which ranges from flower farming, goose, hen and duck rearing for eggs and Christmas tables and sheep farming - there is a LOT of other work to do, which just costs money and is hard to complete without help. These jobs range from tree and hedge planting for wildllife, creating wildflower havens, possibly bee keeping (planned for 2019), kitchen gardening, building restoration, reclamation of old equipment or upcycling projects, and rare breed sheep and pig rearing, we have lots to get involved in, get as mucky as you like, and learn as you go. A love of kids to help a bit with childcare (we have 2 children of 4 and 5, Dec 2018) or even helping with domestic duties such as cooking and housework would be awesome! We are also moving house in May/June 2019 so if anyone would like to help with that?? From cottage to farmhouse, in case you are wondering...all still within the same farm

    Other interests are home brewing, food curing/fermenting/smoking, making sausages and various butchery skills, so if you want to have a go or watch and learn then you will be very welcome. Wild food foraging also enjoyed by us but is seasonally dependant for availability or produce or free time!

    Extensive home library available on smallholding and good animal husbandry, permaculture, cooking and other related topics.

    We hope to establish a wedding barn this coming year for next year (2019 for 2020), with a limited amount of camping facilities in addition, should that be of particular interest in terms of amenity development, commercial wedding planning or as tourism venture.

    We can provide warm or wet weather clothing and, in most cases, protective footwear against the elements! Not new, but good enough :)

    We are also located between 2 villages with pubs, shops, etc so you need not be isolated. If you want to visit NE Scotland and really see the value of your working day, with hopefully lovely people (!), then here's the place!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both seasoned travellers so perhaps we can advise on future travels, and we have extensive travelling experience within Scotland itself, so tap that font please! As locals in a rural area we can introduce you to many other people of interest should you wish. In terms of skills there are so many you can gain and share here that it should not be boring!

  • Help

    Help

    On the whole it will be up to you to decide what you would most like to help with, and this can be as varied as you like it to be, or just go with the weather.

    We do need people to be hard working, but we will be ever so grateful for help, and would never expect too much, just enthusiasm to get stuck in really.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Afrikaans

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a static caravan, far from new but very comfortable and spacious. . The accommodation is better for couples rather than singles (we would not put two strangers together!) so for best use of resources and shared company in working we prefer to take couples. Use of family house shower and washing machine etc. All food will be provided with evening meals preferably shared, but you can choose to be self sufficient and we will make provisions ad facilities for you to do so. Once we move to the bigger farmhouse there may be more options for accommodation and more capacity.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are right on the main coastal bus route runnning between Dundee and Aberdeen. And 10 miles from railway stations of Montrose or Stonehaven.
    As we have children and our house is very small we would ask for privacy in the evening after evening meals, and would encourage our volunteers to enjoy time out in their own space or can check out the local pubs, sports centre etc. We would not like to offend by not making this clear in advance!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 736378811597