Long term help needed on our campsite in the Quantock Hills, Somerset , UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 689 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    297

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ideally we would prefer some experience and a reasonable understanding of English. Please only apply if you can stay for a minimum of 1 year and you are a couple, thank you.

    We are a small family run Campsite and arable farm nestled in the Quantock Hills in Somerset. We have a variety of animals on site such as ponies, chickens, Guinae pigs, cats and dogs.

    We are looking for help on our campsite with cleaning and maintenance.

    Couple prefered.
    Must be able to drive and have a driving licence.
    Lovely accommodation provided on a private pitch on the campsite.
    We are open all year so January - December
    Weekly payment £10 each per hour

    Experience of towing a caravan, using a ride on lawn mower, strimmer, driving farm vehicles would be a benefit.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning about our culture and way of life. Working with the general public and helping with their holiday experience. Learning about animal care and experiencing life on a working farm.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help with the campsite such as grass cutting, cleaning tasks, caring for the animals, helping with the poly tunnel and gardening.
    Knowledge and a love of animals would be beneficial. Experience of working in a group and able to use common sense to help with practical tasks.
    Although we are on an arable farm, our business is focused on the campsite so this is where we need help and not with farming.
    We have had a lot of enquiries from families, however, this position is more suited to friends and couples, not children, sorry!
    A knowledge of cleaning, grass cutting and enjoyment of the countryside and animals would be beneficial.
    Thank you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a static caravan for workers.(see the first pictures on our profile) It is on our main Campsite (plot H1 on our map). Electric is included and free wifi.
    There is a large sitting room, kitchen, double bedroom and 1 bedroom with two single beds. Shower and toilet and outside decked area with small garden.
    Further showers and laundry on the campsite.
    Food provisions will be provided in the caravan and some meals taken with us as a family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beach and hills are all within walking distance. We have bikes to borrow if needed. There is a local bus service from the top of our lane to visit 'Minehead' and 'Bridgwater.' We would be happy for Workawayers to spend days out with us as a family.
    We are generally very busy on the farm and Campsite and are here most days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 6 days a week- max 25 hours/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 113881751179