Laura & Steven

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Czech Republic, Greece, Indonesia, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/08/2019 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    We are two people who love reading, yoga, and gardening. We have been married for four years and excited to experience other countries together. Our desire is to step out of our comfort zone, experience other cultures, learn new languages, and learn about agriculture around the world. Steven has just recently graduated from the University of Iowa with a masters degree in Civil/environmental engineering. We are looking to take some time to travel before he settles into a career. I, Laura, currently work for a Nonprofit organization teaching garden education at both elementary schools and high schools. I also work on Iowa's first urban farm! We are very hard workers, accustomed to working long hours in the hot/cold, and are very laid back and easy going. Our number one goal for this trip is to spend a lot of time outside, learning from people of different cultures and backgrounds than our own.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Laura: degree in environmental science, extensive background knowledge of organic vegetable farming, some knowledge of organic fruit farming, knowledge of growing using a hydroponic system, avid (amateur) chef, passion for foraging food from the wild, and awareness of reducing waste (we try to be zero waste at home).

    Steven: degrees in both math and engineering, very handy with building/construction, background knowledge of organic vegetable farming, knowledge of hydroponics, very skilled in doing anything with numbers/spreadsheets, and really just a jack of all trades! (This is Laura, bragging about his skills:) )

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Haitian Creole: Beginner

  • Age

    26 & 28

  • What else ...

    Love board games of all kinds, avid readers and cooks, generally eat vegetarian but will eat whatever is served. Practice yoga and enjoy hiking, biking, or anything outside really.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback