Assist us with our Japanese language and culture studies in Bundaberg (4 hours north of Brisbane) in Queensland, Australia

Favourited 36 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    21/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello we are Tara and Ben from a beautiful country city called Bundaberg approximately 4 hours north of Brisbane in Queensland. We live in a quite part of Bundaberg just 10 minutes walk from one of the local shopping centres and a 15 minute walk from the airport in a 3 bedroom house. Tara works full time as a Civil Engineer at a local engineering consultancy and is also studying part time at university. Ben works in disability care and has also carried out work as a teachers aid and a managing security officer.

    We offer the guest room in our house for any interested volunteers with a shared bathroom and 2 toilets. We also have wifi internet access.

    We are interested in improving our Japanese language skills as we visit Japan every few years for holidays. Tara also likes to cook yummy food and would love to cook together to exchange cooking styles and recipes.

    We have 2 friendly pet dogs which live in the house with us so they are given baths frequently and we are not smokers but smoking outside the house is ok. Tara's younger brother lives with us and he works most nights in the retail industry. We are also on town water and have instant gas hot water so it never runs out.

    For fun we like to watch movies, play board games, play video games, go to the beach, visit local landmarks, go for bush walks and spontaneous adventures.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly assisting us with our studies in the Japanese language and culture.

    Ben is planning to start up a vegetable garden in the backyard and planting of fruit trees in the front yard which may need some help.

    Cooking if you feel like it and generally maintaining a clean house by cleaning up any mess you make.

    It is doubtful the volunteering hours will exceed 4 hours a day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Japanese (poorly)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer the guest room in our house for any interested volunteers with a shared bathroom and 2 toilets. We have wifi internet access and will also do clothes laundry once or twice a week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bundaberg has beautiful beaches all within a short drive from our house.

    There is one of the very few Rum distillery tours available in Australia.

    There is also a small regional art gallery, a zoo, the botanical gardens and the ginger beer factory with taste testing.

    We can go for bush walks on rural private property.

    Ben can also show you how to rebuild vintage engines if you are interested.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Kangaroos seen about 5 minutes away from home
Kookaburras waiting to be hand fed
The Hummock Lookout Bundaberg
One of the many beaches a short drive from home
Watching the sunrise at the beach
Our friendly dogs
The barrel at Bundaberg Brewed Drinks after taste testing all 16 flavours
Day at the beach; a short drive from home
View of the ocean from Hummock Lookout
Iconic clock tower in Bourbong Street, Bundaberg
Bundaberg Rum Distillery
Tara and Ben on their way to Mt Fuji 5th Station in Japan
Bundaberg aerial photo







Host ref number: 719795276374