Help on an organic strawberry farm near Kuopio in north east Finland

updated

Favourited 654 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    20/04/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! I`m Timo and my life is all about farming and growing organic berries :) I love what i`m doing and i don`t think it as a work but a lifestyle. And having volunteers makes farming even more fun!

    I use modern growing technologies as polytunnels, table top and substrate growing systems. My purpose is to make organic growing also efficient. I am the only one in Finland using these technologies in organic berry farming so you would be also be doing something new and developing new methods for the future. I also grow berries in a "normal" way in a open field.

    Your work can be anything from planting, nursering and harvesting berries to renovating and householding the old buildings, also some forest management tasks depending the time of your visit. Farm is in a beautiful place next to lake and most fields are around it but i also have fields other side of the lake. There we go by rowing boats (or by bikes). If you go by boat its c. 400m and by bike or car 6km. There is boats and bikes for you to use.

    There are several old buildings at the farm as it has history since 1657 and Im renovating them step by step. There is two old traditional wooden log houses, where the accommodation is provided. The main house is big about 200m2 and other smaller traditional Finnish summer barn. And of course there is also the sauna next to lake, where we wash up and relax.

    Im 36 years old man and i have traveled and lived in different countries so i understand well different cultures. I have also done wwoofing/volunteering in Canary Islands and in Brazil, so i know the principles of wwoofing/volunteering very well and i also know what makes a good host! :) If you have any questions, just contact me and i will get back to you as soon as possible!

    Truly yours, Timo :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Your tasks would be anything from planting, watering, nursering, collecting, packaging, driving and selling (straw)berries to working in a forest or helping rebuild the old house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, a little Swedish and native Finnish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Wooden cottages.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Rainbow over the farm! Taken by volunteer Maggi
Friendly neighbour gave us a ride in a lake
The farm crew July/2016
Waking up in a morning can be difficult sometimes, but sunny weather and nice view makes it a bit easier :)
Kuopio city.
Learning to row. German- American teamwork.


















Host ref number: 716279581315