Help us renovate a Fort in France

Favourited 134 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description



    We are a British couple restoring a property in L'isle Jourdain Vienne. (Poitou Charantes) parts of which are 1000 years old. We began this project about a year ago and have been turning what was an overgrown, leaky deathtrap into what we hope will be a beautiful home for our family.

    The building itself is on an island separated from the town by a private bridge, and is only occupied by me (Helen), my husband (Moyed) and a few Chickens, Pigeons, two cats and a little dog.

    The nearest airports are Limoges and Poitiers (about an hour away by car) and it you drive theres plenty of space for a car here - in fact it's a great spot to explore the country on the weekends.

    You're welcome to come for anything for a week to month, and we would like someone to help for about 25 hours a week.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help


    We need help with our pets, clearing the garden, gardening, general DIY and helping Moyed who is a carpenter. We are flexible on what time you start work as long as the work is done and is discussed with us.
    If you want to learn new skills, get away from it all and love the idea of working on a bit of history you'll love it here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We think the area is beautiful!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Arabic

  • Accommodation


    The building is not yet ready, so you'll be staying in a mobile home on site - it has its own bathroom, kitchenette and two small double bedrooms We are quite happy to accommodate vegetarians & Vegans (our son is vegan, so we are well versed in plant based food too!).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to do and see locally from bungee jumping from the viaduct ( behind our place) and a zip wire across the river minutes away. There is a municipal swimming pool just up the road and bars, restaurants and a large supermarket in L'isle Jourdain literally 10 mins walk away . The famous Val de Vienne circuit is literally around 4 miles away with its varied events from Ferrari,Porche and motorcycle racing.
    If you have any questions please ask!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 685666186179