Looking for people to help us with our yard in a beautiful countryside in Finland.

Favourited 27 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    15/07/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    106

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: We are currently fully booked for the summer of 2017. If there are some last minute changes, we will post information to this page. We like to thank everyone that we have been in contact with.

    We are a family of two adults (+35 years), two dogs and a cat living in a small village community in a beautiful countryside in Ylöjärvi Finland. We have a traditional two story wooden house with about 5000 m2 of property. We've moved here a couple of years ago and our yard and garden are still unfinished. We are both working long days in Tampere (nearby city), so we don't have much time and energy to do all the garden work that would be needed.

    Our house is located in the countryside of southern Finland, surrounded by coniferous forests, lakes and fields. We try to live ecologically and we produce 90 % of our energy needs by solar powerplant in the summertime. We also have a small vegetable plot.

    There are two lakes nearby, with the closest one about 400 metres away with possibility for swimming and fishing. We also have a rowing boat at your disposal in the other lake nearby. We have neighbouring houses nearby. It's about 15 minutes to the nearest shopping centre by car, and about 30 minutes to the city of Tampere. There are daily bus connections to Tampere (slower than by car) and you can lift a ride every morning from us as well. There are many cultural and recreational happenings and places in Tampere.

    The national parks of Seitseminen and Helvetinjärvi are located in a short driving distance from us, as well as the Riuttaskorpi recreation forest (unfortunately no public transport). They all have lakes, places for campfires and marked hiking trails. There are also many horse riding stables nearby both for hacking (trail riding) and taking riding lessons. In nearby forests it's possible to pick berries and mushrooms in late summer and autumn. You can also borrow our bicycles: there are nice countryside cycling roads around. We'll provide you with a GPS smartphone with Internet connection and accurate offline hiking maps of nearby areas.

    We like peaceful and quiet country living, animals and nature. Our hobbies include photography, hiking, outdoors, animals, reading, gardening and travelling. We both are (at least quite) fluent in English and have travelled and lived abroad.

    We are looking for 1-2 likeminded persons, who seek for living in the peaceful countryside and are able to work in the yard doing some basic gardening and woodwork. We hope you like animals and can take care of our pets if necessary. We hope you could take care of the tasks quite independently, as we can't be around during the day because of our work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with the following jobs. Don't be scared of the long list: You don't have to do, or know how to do them all, but it is good to know what types of tasks there might be available.

    - building a henhouse
    - painting of windowframes, a wall etc
    - crafting decorations for our terrace fence (woodwork)
    - piling firewood
    - taking care of the lawn (we also have a robotic lawnmover, so it's not a weekly task)
    - building a small wooden shed
    - replacing old floorboards from our cottage terrace
    - moving and adding soil
    - watering the plants
    - installing garden gates
    - walking and taking care of the dogs
    - cleaning windows
    - installing a toilet in our cottage
    - planting flowers and plants
    - cooking occasionally
    - installing cornerstones to our driveway and plants
    - dismantling our old garden compost and building a new one
    - picking berries & mushrooms (for example blueberries from the forest)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Finnish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have about 20 m2 two story, simple cottage in our yard, which is completely at your disposal. At the cottage, you will find:
    - tv and a sofa
    - Internet
    - stereos
    - running water
    - a fridge, microwave oven and water heater
    - basic kitchen equipment (no stove or oven)
    - electricity
    - cooling and heating with air conditioning
    - bed linens and towels

    You also have 24/7 access to toilet, sauna, showers and washing machine in our house. Sauna can be heated at will. You can also use our outdoor grill in our terrace. You can also use our house kitchen for cooking food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Already mentioned above :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to see Finnish countryside and be surrounded by nature. We hope that you enjoy your stay at us!

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photos


My Photo Album


Blueberry time in forest.
Our cat chilling in the sun.
Scenery nearby.
Rowing during the sunset.
Flowers of the front door last summer.
Roses from our yard.
Nearest lake and our swimming place.
Our house from a distance
Our house, with our cottage on the right.
Our sauna.
Our dogs in winter.
Our lapponian herder. Also 11 years old. Ultra nice and extrovert.
Our house
Our leader. 8 years old. Very skillful hunter. Likes people very much.
Our golden retriever. 11 years old. Ultra nice and introvert.

Feedback

Host ref number: 673546937558