Help out in the countryside of Southern Finland

Favourited 58 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register


  • Description


    Hello everybody,
    I am a sempstress /designer/enterpreneur. My partner works in construction building. I work from home. We haven´t got children but our days can still be very busy especially during my working on a project. We have a dog and 2 cats.

    We have a special interest in eco living with a small garden and composting out-door toilet. We grow seasonal vegetables and tomatoes. Se hope to be more self sustained in the future and have a bigger veggie garden so in the spring/ beginning of summer there will ja chores in the garden.

    We use composting out door toilet in the summer time and encourage our visitors to do so, too.In our climate you will need warm clothes for out door tasks, these we can provide but you must have your own foot wear (shoes/boots) suitable for Nordic weather. The house keeps warm with wood burning fire places, so you will help out with carrying the fire wood during cold weather.

    Help is needed to take care of some of the house work, walking the dog, work in the garden: turning the soil for veggie patch (to make new veggie patch base) , weeding, watering plants, mowing the lawn( cutting grass) etc.
    We are trying to go for more self-sustained living, so small projects will pop up accordingly. At harvest time we make preservatives, pick lingon berries and make jams (among other things).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Help


    No special skills are needed. At the moment we are looking for help in gardening and maybe to renovate a room in the attic for workawayers next year. Indoor tasks include tidying up/cleaning and cooking. We hope you like animals and you are interested in country living, gardening and cooking. We look for persons who show initiative and are easy going. During evenings I often make plans or designs for my studio or spend time with pets, go for walks in the nearby forest, watch old movies etc. Most of the day time I will spend working (as sempstress) but I will of course give guidance in all tasks and many we will do together.
    Our shedules are flexible but they need to be coordinated with my working at out door artisan markets and on special occasions.

    Cooking family meals together is a nice way to get to know each other. We eat a lot of vegetarian food but also enjoy some chicken, fish and meat.

    Please note, that due to global warming, we tend to get a lot of rain during autumn and some at winter time, too. In the middle of winter (Jan-Feb) weather can be extremely cold , -27 ... -29C, for few days, but usually temperature in winter time can be anything from +9 (rare) to -15...-20(normal) centigrades Celsius. Weather in the summer time (June-July) is moderately warm with some rainy days.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Finnish, Swedish, English. Very basic Spanish.

  • Accommodation


    A room for your own use with fridge and water kettle. Because only part of the house has running water, we offer you a water container with fresh water.
    Limited shower room use at the other end of the house. During the coldest part of the year it is possible to use indoor toilet/shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearest railway station, apr. 20 km. Nearest large city is Tampere, about an hour drive from here (70 km ). Tampere has some interesting and high quality museums. There are lovely paths for walking in the woods, you can even see deer in their natural habitat only 10-15 minutes walk from the house. A lot of birds live on and around the estate.
    You can borrow a bicycle from the house and bike around the village. In the summer time we have a nice weekly out door market circa 4 km from here.
    There are a couple of small public beaches for swimming nearby ( one a lovely pond in the middle of a forest ) and a disc golf park. It is possible to visit Torronsuo bog and go trekking at Liesijärvi National Park if you enjoy out doors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am fluent in English, (but not a native English speaker) so you can practise your English during your stay with us. You have a possibility to learn to cook and make traditional breads/buns.
    You will also learn about herbs and their use and traditional Finnish garden plants. We can take a trip to Liesijärvi National Park, where we can enjoy the famous bog land of Torronsuo bog. There are possibilities to see wild life: birds, squirrels and white tailed deer not too far from the house. During early autumn we can go walking in a nearby forest to pics berries and make traditional blueberry pie.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day (max 25hours/week)

Country living and handicrafts

We grow edible herbs too but these flowers are to be dried and made into insect repellent potpourri.

Host ref number: 664766838466