In North Yorkshire countryside, England - to help with puppies and garden

updated
Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 1564 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    37  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    752

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    January 2019

    We are happy to host and welcome ONE PERSON at a time, so pleased whatever your circumstances we do not wish to accommodate 2 people so please don't ask.

    Someone who is happy to fit in to the rural life in the countryside .

    We have puppies so would like someone who loves them and not just like them and will play with them and socialise them before they go to their new homes. Sometimes we keep some too ..

    We live in a C16th farmhouse in a beautiful area in North Yorkshire. On the edge of the North York Moors National Park . The area is designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

    Anna run a bed and breakfast business and Jack has Gundogs- Labradors and cocker spaniels.

    A busy household there is always something to do for a spare pair of hands.Whether it be indoors-making beds or outside as we have a large garden about 1 acre and 6 acres of woodland with a stream. So anyone with garden experience is most welcome our garden will love them .

    We have 4+ beehives so anyone with knowledge or interested are most welcome.

    Across the road son, Nicholas, runs a 400 acre mixed farm. We have cattle andsheep as well as some arable and there are always maintenance jobs to do there- carpentry/painting. Grandad lives in the main farmhouse and likes help in his garden, he is 96 active and a world of information.

    Our families have lived here for over 100 years. We have fruit orchards too. We would not ask you to do anything we would not do ourselves.

    Non smokers /drugs and no heavy/problem drinkers. People can work with their own initiative.

    Please understand it can be very cold and wetter than on the continent.

    Good understanding of the English language please.

    We welcome you to chat with us on Skype to go into any questions that you/us may want to ask.

    We have websites too so after first contact we can tell you them - we are unable to put them up on here as it is not allowed by the hosts of this website that we show that we are real people and not just cyber freaks .

    HELPERS -PLEASE BRING YOUR OWN WELLINGTONS

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Helped needed with dogs/puppies during shooting season .
    Large garden so experience would be great but not necessary just be willing
    We have bees
    Also helping on the farm. Help in Springtime with lambing time.
    Picking fruit and vegetables when in season.
    We have sheep.cattle and young piglets .

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the countryside . Nature is surrounding us and there is something to learn every day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A 4 poster ensuite room with own TV in the main house. This is a room iis of a high standard as in the busier months I let out to guests .
    We live on a bus route which comes by the bottom of our drive 3 times a day except Sundays
    We have dogs and a cat so please no one who is frightened of them or allergic to them

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have dogs and a cat so we ask for people who are not allergic to these.

    The exchange we offer is for someone who is healthy in body and mind to do physical work.

    We live in a rural area so would suit only those looking to be in the countryside.

    We can not accommodate smokers ,heavy/problem drinkers and will not tolerate drugs.

    We are meat eaters and are not able to cope with vegan diets or picky eaters

    Thank you

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (max 25hours/week)






















Host ref number: 653576752589