Artists : Help us to decorate a Tropical Bar in Fort Dauphin Taolagnaro, Madagascar

updated
Country

Madagascar

Favourited 122 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    900

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    [ENGLISH][we are french]
    Hello ! I'm Lily, 28 years old, I live with my boyfriend, "Titi" and his Malagasy family.
    We are both bartenders, and after a trip in Polynesia, we opened a Tapas and Cocktail Bar in town. the family run also a famous restaurant on the beach. Frederic love surfing, play poker and chill. I like imagine and set up cultural project, do photography and write.
    In our big courtyard, there is 4 houses quite often occupied by young volounteer of a local NGO, families, or expatriates people, so atmosphere is always friendly and full of life ! One of the houses is now a restaurant-bar (we are open since March 2018) and as we use to rent /offer one of our room to travellers or students or internshippers AND because we will need some help in our projects, we thought to Workaway ! :)

    Important : better to speak french to be able to communicate with people here and feel integrated :)




    [FRANÇAIS]
    Salut salut ! Moi c'est Lily, j'ai 28 ans, et je vis avec mon copain Frédéric (dit Titi) et sa famille Malagasy. Nous sommes tous les deux de la restauration, et après un voyage en Polynésie, nous avons ouvert un bar à tapas et cocktail en ville, et sa famille tient un restaurant assez populaire sur une plage de la ville. Lui adore surfer, jouer au poker et chiller/ Moi j'aime bien mettre en place des ptits projets à teneur culturelle, je fait de la photo et j'écris.
    Dans la grande cour ou nous vivons, il y à 4 maisons, souvent louées par des volontaires d'une ONG locale, des familles, ou des expat', donc l'ambiance est plutôt cool, amicale et pleine de vie. Une de ces maisons est devenue un bar-restaurant: on est ouverts depuis Mars 2018 et comme on à l'habitude d’accueillir à la maison des voyageurs, des étudiants, des stagiaires et qu'on à besoin d'un coup de main au bar, on à pensé à Workaway ! :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Bauarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    FIrst of all, you will live a family life ! here in Madagascar, people are verry family-oriented so you will live with us and be integrated by everyone like one of us : it's an extraordinary way to disover and learn to know the malagasy culture and its tones. You can also learn to surf with Titi and use our material for that, photography with me, and discover the region better than any travelguide could do (in fact they are all obsolete for our region)...


    [FRANÇAIS]
    Avant tout, ce sera une vie de famille ! ici à Mada l'esprit de famille est hyper présent, donc vous vivrez avec nous et serez complètement intégrés dans la famille : c'est une opportunité extraordinaire de découvrir et d'apprendre à connaitre la culture malagasy et toutes ses nuances. Vous pourrez apprendre à surfer avec Titi, et utiliser les planches sans probleme, apprendre la photo avec moi, et surtout découvrir la région mieux qu'avec n'importe quel guide de voyage (d'ailleurs ils sont tous obsolètes pour le coin)

  • Help

    Help

    [ENGLISH]
    We welcomed Clara, Margot and Susi in 2017, each helped us during the construction and decoration work. Now that the bar is working well, we would love to continue the work of decoration and DIY: painting murals, various small crafts, twist of materials and recycling objects to complete the decor.


    [FRANÇAIS]
    Nous avons accueillis Clara, Margot et Susi en 2017, chacune nous à aidé pendant les travaux de construction et de décoration. Maintenant que le bar marche bien, nous aimerions beaucoup continuer les travaux de décoration et de bricolage : peinture, fresque, petits bricolages divers, détournements de matériaux et recyclage d'objets pour compléter la déco.

    Vous pouvez regarder nos profils sur Instagram et Facebook. Clara a fait un boulot incroyable en fresques et peinture, mais on aimerait bien continuer la déco et aussi avoir d'autres touches et styles :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français, Anglais, Espagnol, Malagasy

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    [ENGLISH]
    we have a large bedroom for guests and friend and it will be private. all the other rooms are shared (living-room, bathroom etc..) in the courtyard, we have a little pavilion for pre-dinner or just chill with the other tenant. food is included of course.


    [FRANÇAIS]
    On a une grande chambre d'ami qui sera privative, toutes les autres pièces de la maison sont partagée. Dans le jardin, on a un petit kiosque pour prendre l'apéro ou chiller avec les autres locataires. Les repas sont inclus, bien sur.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    [ENGLISH]
    Fort Dauphin is the souhest city of Madagascar. It's a lovely town, neglected by the mass tourism despite of its idyllic environment. Surounded by beaches and moutains, it's a perfect spot to enjoy an authentic nature : surf, kite-surf, swimming, hiking, trekking... I'ts a medium city, but everyone knows everyone,, it' easy to feel like home. But we are also a bit isolated wich means no cinema, no supermarket, around 15 restaurant and only 2 nightclub (included ours) Weather is nice all year long, a bit rainy from january to march, winter is about 71 Fht on average. Life cost is verry low for someone from Occident.

    We are easy-going but we have our character ^^ the most important is to be able to communicate and say if you feel uncomfortable. every problem have a solution, let just talk about it ! We are looking for people who know what it means to live in a community and ready to adapt as much as we will :)

    [FRENCH]
    Fort Dauphin est la ville la plus au sud de l'île. c'est une chouette ville, négligée par le tourisme de masse malgré son cadre idyllique. Entourée de plages et de montagnes, c'est le spot parfait pour qui aime la nature authentique : surf, kitesurf, randos... C'est une ville à taille humaine, tout le monde se connait, c'est assez facile de s'y sentir chez soi. Mais on est aussi un peu enclavé, donc pas de cinémas, de supermarché, une quinzaine de restos et 3 boites (dont la notre). Le climat est plutôt bon tout le long de l'année, un peu plus pluvieux de janvier à Mars, l'hiver tourne autour de 22 degrés. Le niveau de vie est extremement bas pour quelqu'un venant de l'occident.

    Je crois pouvoir dire qu'on est plutot facile à vivre, mais on a aussi nos caractères ^^ Le plus important est dêtre capable de communiquer si quelquechose ne convient pas, tout probleme à une solution, il suffit d'en discuter ! On cherche plutot des gens qui savent vivre en communauté, et qui sont prêts à s'adapter autant que nous le ferons :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day max, 5 y / week. 5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

One of our last decoration project was this Children Corner : Books, games and couches
amazing vue on the mountain from the bar
terrasse of the bar
Friday Night Fever - Ambiance du vendredi soir
Main room of the Bar - La salle principale du bar
Terrasse of the bar with mural made by Clara Guelfi - La terrasse du bar, avec une des fresques faites par Clara Guelfi
Titi and I - Titi et moi
Me doing Shooters - Moi faisant des shooters
when we go to visit the family in the bush - visite de la famille en brousse
it's us ! - c'est nous !

Host ref number: 648315871965