Come and explore Argyll, Scotland and help us make our little farm special..

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    403

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an active happy family who lives remotely in the Scottish Highlands. We have a small farm which is at least an hour from the nearest large town. My husband and I are both self employed and based from the farm. Our eldest son Ben is 4 and currently in nursery 3 days a week, his new brother is 1 year old and at home with me..We had a lovely herd of pigs but unfortunately sold them recently, we are hoping to put some cabins up next year and trying to work the farm and make it sustainable...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can explore the west coast of Scotland, we love cooking and growing our own food, help with my horses - I am learning and working with natural horsemanship people..I run an ecology business which is pretty quiet right now but happy to teach anyone interested what I do - surveys and mapping wise...

  • Help

    Help

    Hi, we live on a small farm in a remote glen is Scotland, due to me recently having a baby we have downsized our animals and my husband is away fencing. I am looking for help to keep the farm moving forward..we have a poly tunnel which is growing lots but neglected due to our 4 month old! The grass is long and the orchard neglected...I’m looking for help to clear wire from fields, strim/mow, odds and end jobs out and about the farm depending on experience or help with the little one and his big brother to free up some of my time. We are remote but we have access to trains to Glasgow, Fort William, Oban and I head to Stirling once every couple of weeks so the west coast of Scotland can be explored..we have dogs, horses, sheep, a few cattle, native black bees and hens and ducks. Any help in the house would also be appreciated..

    We would love to have anyone who has experience dry stone walling as we have 30 metres of wall which is falling down. Tristan has done a walling course but could do with someone with experience to get this done...

    UPDATE 2019: We are about to put 30 hectares of new native woodland in, to do so we need to clear all the old stock fences from the fields which we need to do before we put the new fence up..

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare double room in the attic with a separate toilet, there are 2 showers/bathrooms downstairs which you would share with us. The office is also in the attic but rarely used at the moment! We all eat dinner together here, if you enjoy cooking happy for you to introduce us to new food...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are remote but we are happy to take you to the train stations in Dalmally which would take you Oban way which opens up the islands to you, Bridge of Orchy train station takes you to Fort William and beyond and Tyndrum can get you to Glasgow so plenty of places to explore, we are surrounded by mountains which we are happy to advise you on to access - we have all the maps and knowledge..I’m happy for you to come with me to Stirling/Callander if I’m heading there. We have bikes available to you some amazing biking in the area...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 636111166614