Homesteading acreage in Glenboro, Canada

Favourited 28 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    03/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family with 2 kids and we live on a 10 acre property near Spruce Woods Provincial Park in Manitoba, Canada. We are taking steps towards sustainability and homesteading practices.
    We have chickens for eggs and a big garden. In the summer we raise chickens and pigs for meat.
    It is a busy house with kids, dogs, animals and our au pair.

    Our workaway projects include: Helping with animal and garden chores, improving our current set up in the yard, fencing for our future goats, and the dream project for someone with experience, building an outdoor kitchen.

    When veggie and fruit harvest starts, we have a beautiful, well-equipped kitchen for canning, freezing, baking and sharing. Help with cooking and kitchen creativity is always welcome.

    We invite individuals, couples and families interested in helping on the farm with animal care, gardening, seasoned or aspiring chefs and/or child care providers. Building projects are avaliable for the right person. If you are keen to be involved with fencing or building the outdoor kitchen please let us know in your initial message.

    My husband, Eric and I have an accounting office nearby so independent work is necessary. Our au pair will usually be at the farm with you and the kids.

    In our free time we are musicians, love to hike at Spruce Woods Provincial Park, boat, swim and have pot luck gatherings with friends. The kids love to play in the yard, visit the library and enjoy meeting new people.

    We are an international household and have hosted helpers and aupairs from all over the world. We eat an international, Canadian diet including lots of our own meat and veggies. We love learning about your culture, language and cuisine. Special events include Canada Day, Mexican Independence Day and Burns Night.

    We generally house helpers in our finished basement with lots of space but there is a camper in the yard.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    The main tasks for helpers are caring for the animals, chickens and pigs, collecting eggs and tending the garden. We are looking for helpers with building skills to help with fencing and building an outdoor kitchen.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in house or camper in yard. Wireless internet, shared washroom. Large shared kitchen and living room. Also a hot tub, beautiful deck, and frequent BBQs in summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Spruce woods provincial park is 5 miles from our house. You can hike the sand dunes out to the Devil's punch bowl, or the trails to the Hog's Back, camp, fish, stay in a traditional Yurt, canoe and paddle boat.

    Our area is mostly grain, potato and cattle farmers. There are many opportunities to tour local farms and even go on a ride-along.

    There are frequent folk music festivals nearby to experience local culture, cuisine, art and entertainment. The Winnipeg folk festival and Prairie Wind festival are highlights.

    We love being outdoors all summer. We work early so we can spend the hotter times of the day swimming and relaxing.

    Winnipeg and Brandon are cities that have airports in our area and the Greyhound bus comes to Carberry. We can meet travellers in Brandon or Carberry.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album




Host ref number: 634222162357