Experience life on our small family dairy farm with caring owners in New Zealand

updated
Country

New Zealand

Favourited 149 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    we have a small dairy farm 3km from Collingwood. Tim and I work the farm together, although this year we will have another person helping Tim with the cows. We have three children, 14 12 11 yrs. they are busy and active. There is good wifi in your bunkroom as we prefer you dont use screens in the house. Shared family bathroom inside. We have coeliac children but offer you gluten breakfast / toast/ oats. Please bring your own and any other snacks, chocolate or sweets. We offer three good meals per day and expect 4.5 hours of work. We like for you to help with the meal dishes and like you to explore our local area. We are on the road to Farewell Spit at the top of the south island. Here we are surrounded by beautiful bush, big rivers and a great coast line, all 3km from the village and 20mins to Takaka.

    We have bikes for you to use and kayaks and are happy for you to go out in the evenings.

    You can get to Takaka by coach, and we can pick you up from there. If you don't have a car you can hitchhike easily to Farewell Spit from our farm, which is on the same road.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We always spend time talking to our travellers and encourage them to walk around the farm, see the milking and interact wtih our children. We offer local information and most people leave knowing alot about a typical kiwi farming family.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to come and help with the garden and look after the chickens and cats while we are away 8-14 July, but to come a few days before to learn the jobs and to meet us. We need to be able to trust you with our property. you will need to be able to manage firewood and to light a fire in the log burner in the house. We have had helpers before who have filled the house with smoke unable to lit the fire. Also you have to be comfortable with the cats and chickens and do some work while we are away, cleaning in the house and gardening(weeding).

    Later on we are also looking for an individual to live in with us for couple of months from mid August. This is calving time on the farm and we need help with the housework, being around when children are home, helping with meal preparation, helping with feeding the calves and some gardening. You will be part of the family environment and just help where it needs. This is a busy time but we are relaxed, inclusive and want you to have fun and time off too. You will need to be flexible, kind, tolerant and wanting a full kiwi experience in all aspects of a busy working house and farm.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room outside main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our children are coeliac, gluten free, and we eat meat. We cook meals and don't mind if you are vegetarian or vegan but we are a working farm and eat our own raised meat and other animal products.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4.5 hours per day 5 days a week





Host ref number: 623784414242