Natural building in Morocco

updated
Country

Morocco

Favourited 1330 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    134  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/02/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    114

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 61 year old English woman, settled in Morocco for the past three years. I am creating my own Nirvana with the help of like minded souls of all ages. Presently I share my space with 15 chucks (including rare breeds) , Lila my little Maltese cross, Booby out new puppy guard dog, and Cuzco as well as our potential 'mouse catchers' Lulu, NC and Teabag.
    I am not an expert in natural building, self sufficiency or eco living, I enjoy working cooperatively, as part of an enthusiastic team, experimenting, and learning together to do the best we can.

    This year we are building a range of natural buildings, all made with locally sourced materials; bamboo, cob, straw, and eucalyptus wood as well as recycled and scavenged materials! Volunteers will help me with every aspect of the build from design to build to finish and furniture making. We have just completed building an adobe and cob Hobbit House, this includes integrated cob furniture using natural, recycled and second hand/found materials. Over the next few months we will be working on building maintenance, landscaping and building an adobe Hammam tower complete with cob oven, out door kitchen and patio space, so lots of opportunity for getting down and dirty with mud!

    Work is intense, physically hard, fun, creative and above all an excellent opportunity to learn and experiment with natural building techniques as well as immersing yourself into Moroccan rural life and community living

    We enjoy a rural lifestyle and are sometimes subject to breaks in utilities, but that is part and parcel of country living in North Africa. We enjoy excellent, mainly vegetarian food, but sorry we cannot cater for vegans. We provide three wholesome meals a day, tea breaks and sometimes cookies! Please feel free to bring extra food for snacks, if you need them as we do not live close to shops. We also arrange local trips, play cards, have good conversation, film and pizza nights and enjoy rural tranquility.

    Volunteers must stay for a minimum of 3 weeks but preferably a month, longer if they are amazing!
    I am looking for volunteers who can give 100% commitment to the project as I have experienced lots of cancellations which is disruptive to the project and to the team. We enjoy working and tend to work long hours to learn together and have fun. We are a popular project so it is a good idea to book well in advance, I rarely have last minute vacancies and volunteers need to come prepared with suitable clothes/ footwear for dirty work.
    You will also need to bring a photocopy of your passport for the local bureaucracy. We have a minimum stay of three weeks but in the unlikely event either party is unhappy after the first week we will part company amicably!

    If you are not put off by this description and hard work then my project may be the place for you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will experience Northern Moroccan culture first hand, especially at the Suq (Local Market) every Monday. You will learn a variety of natural building techniques, eat delicious food, and live with incredible views. Women volunteers can also accompany me to the local Hammam for a weekly wash!

    In your free time you can explore a wealth of local attractions as we enjoy good transport links into Assilah and other nearby towns. It is truly beautiful here and you can hike/explore the amazing local countryside possibly walking to our local stone circle Mzoura. We also live 40 mins away from nearby clean Atlantic beaches.

    Hopefully you can also learn to speak a smattering of Derija (Moroccan Arabic) and spend time in the local village Tnine Sidi Al Yamani, watching football with the locals, or visiting the Hammam (communal bathing house)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking particularly for experienced and skilled people with construction experience, plumbers, carpenters and other practical skills as well as artists, creatives and general volunteers, happy to do hard physical labor.

    All volunteers will help with day to day tasks; cooking, cleaning, animal care, shopping, maintenance etc

    We welcome volunteer input and ideas and are open to volunteer led projects on site.

    I will send new volunteers an interactive map prior to their arrival. I can also arrange private hire pick up from Tanger airport - 300 dirham (30 Euros)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have just completed new volunteer/ guest accommodation, and have places for up to 4 volunteers at any time in dorm style accommodation. Food is top quality, locally sourced, international, with lots of cake - well I am English!

    We are located in the countryside with limited transport, volunteers will need to get to our local village Sidi Al Yamini when they arrive. I will send an interactive map with transport details upon confirmation.

    Volunteers can get wifi through purchasing a Moroccan sim card which is cheap (30 dirham) as is data

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our project is based one mile from our local village where there is regular transport into Assilah and Larache. We are situated ten kilometres from beautiful beaches, an awesome stone circle, a Roman settlement and other places of high cultural and historic interest. There are interesting bird and wildlife, and amazing flora and fauna, we actually have wild tortoises on the land.

    We enjoy a relaxed lifestyle, love cooking and sharing food with guests. At week ends we sometimes arrange trips and chill out together, however Saturday is my home day to chill without hosting so volunteers are asked to give me space for the day.

    All accepted volunteers must bring a photocopy of their passport, suitable work clothes for construction and house shoes to replace your work shoes for inside wear & PLEASE>>>cheese- yes, really cheese!- if possible as they don't do great cheese around here. cheese is never not welcome!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 Days a week (Mon-Fri), Weekends off - flexible but I need every Saturday off!

The main house where we eat and socialise!
The new volunteer accommodation
Volunteer house in the moonlight
Getting mucky making cob
The Village at night







































































Host ref number: 621617137756