Help out a family trying to reestablish our garden/small farm lifestyle here on Vancouver Island, Canada

updated

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    13/06/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    395

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a big family trying to reestablish our garden/small farm lifestyle here on Vancouver Island. Strangely we find ourselves owning a property with a tennis court and a pool! The tennis court is slowly converting into an organic garden and chicken run while we work on various projects around the property. Both of us adults are local business owners (timber construction and artisan retail) and our 4 children (ages 8-15) are active in music and sports. We are quiet, easy-going, respectful people who appreciate the same. We work hard on our weekends and evenings around the property. Sometimes we have a big project like building outbuildings or stacking wood and sometimes we leisurely weed and water the gardens, cook, run kids here and there or enjoy a BBQ and a swim in our lovely pool. Our property is less than a kilometer from beach and local golf and the island is full of natural wonders.
    We have been fortunate for the past 2 summers to find workaways who have stayed and gotten to know our family for the whole of July/August. This was amazing and we are very hopeful to find someone with similar interest for summer 2018.
    Please read all details and tell us about yourself and your hopes for your travels in your message.
    If your musical, crafty, enjoy sports and outdoors then please share those interests.
    We want you to enjoy your stay and we want to enjoy having you.
    Because we are inviting you to share space with our family, we will require at least a phone call before accepting you to come and stay long term.
    HAPPY TRAVELING!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly just keeping up around the house. Tossing in a load of laundry or dishes, occasionally cooking a meal, etc.
    The gardens require about 1-2 hours a day of maintenance including the resident animals - dog, cat, and 20 chickens/ducks raised for eggs only. We are getting ready to do some small builds including a timber loft, mill cut re-siding, timber-frame shop. For the right person, help with the kids would be fantastic. Keeping them on task with a couple chores daily, going on walks and minding them poolside would be a huge help.
    Quiet, respectful, tidy person a must. NO SMOKING
    We eat together 5 nights a week and invite you to eat with us. Breakfast and Lunch foods made available on work days.
    Private Space with bed, fridge, wi-fi (short walk to washroom from cabin)

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Gardening, small acre farming, building, Canadian culture.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Come stay in the pool house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local bus takes you into Duncan and day trips into Victoria. Many beaches, trails, local artisan venues, and more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours - 3 days per week; 5-hours - 2 days per week SUMMER is 5 hours/5days maximum, but most of the time is leisure day trips with the family.

My Photo Album




Host ref number: 614573135765