Old cottage restoration in the beautiful Wye valley, England

Favourited 128 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


Contact Register


  • Description


    My name is Joe and I am a 27 year old who lives in the Wye valley, restoring a 200 year old cottage and involved in permaculture, natural beekeeping and forest garden projects. This winter I am hoping to landscape the garden using the abundance of natural stone available and a philosophy influenced by permaculture. At the moment theres usually 3 or 4 workawayers staying here so theres abit of a community feel which is lovely.

  • Type of help

    Type of help


  • Help


    I have almost finished restoring a 200 year old stone cottage. I will need help finishing off the final touches and landscaping the garden. I am mostly fully booked now until March, but I have a room free from the 10th of February until the end of March. I don't usually ask for anyone with any skills as its always nice to learn on the job, but at the moment there are so many little jobs that need someone with some DIY or building experience, that at the moment it would be great to get someone who has abit of skill. I have a patio to lay, some fences to make from the local woodland, doors fitting and being made out of pallet wood, an outdoor compost toilet and shower area to be made from roundwood. If that sounds like the kind of thing youd enjoy doing, it would be great to hear from you :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    A bedroom to yourself in the cottage. The cottage is very nearly finished and is looking wonderful, so its definitely no longer a building site!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are plenty of walks in the Wye valley. The cottage is sited on Offas dyke, a path that allows you to walk the entire length of Wales from the doorstep!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning natural building skills and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. I was also a practising medical herbalist so would be happy to teach volunteers about the local medicinal and wild plants. The Wye valley is a beautiful area and there is a wonderful feeling of community here. There is also the opportunity to learn about beekeeping.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 564827265318