Volunteer with us at our watermill in the Wendland.

Favourited 313 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    12/10/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a little family, Milton (Swedish, 38) and Hanne (German, 37) and Lovis (born in February 2014 and the most amazing little creature), who have decided a few years ago to move to the country side in Germany and have bought a beautiful old watermill with a lake and some land in a small village (80 people) in the Wendland, a rural area in Lower Saxony.
    It is a little paradise but still needs some love and care. We are renovating and insulating parts of the house, always extending our veg garden and improving the rest of the property, animal enclosures and the lake. At the moment we have ducks, chicken, sheep, goats, cats and a dog. Soon we will hopefully get two pigs as well. We are aiming to reach a good level of self-sufficiency but in some regards it's still a way to go for us.

    We also run a little trout fishing business at the lake.

    We are part of a lovely and interesting community and often people come over for a chat and a coffee and a slice of Hanne's cake.

    We love life, laughter, adventures, music, good food and animals. Would you like to share this with us?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Life in the country side is still in some regards new to us so you might not be able to always learn from our endless experience but you have the chance to be part of the process and bring in your own ideas and experience. There are lots of things to do and you can help us either with the renovations and building works in and around the house, care for the animals, gardening or maintenance of the fishing lake. Work will include e.g. scraping off wallpaper, painting, building and repairing, mucking out stables, feeding the sheep, chicken and ducks, lawn mowing, raking, planting, weeding etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guestroom, flat

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In 2014 life has changed considerably for us as our little daughter Lovis was born! She is the biggest source of love and laughter and huge belly giggles and really keeps us going. As there seems to be even less time now to get anything done, we would really appreciate work awayers who would also be willing to take on some of the cooking and help Hanne with the housework which is normally not so much part of your tasks. Or of course enjoy having a play and a cuddle with a gorgeous little girl :-) Also anyone with some knowledge of gardening work and vegetable growing is particularly welcome.
    We can't wait for all the new exciting adventures she brings to our lives, so we hope you will also be up for the challenge of living with us while we discover what life as mommy Hanne and daddy Milton is like :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours per day / 5 days a week

My Photo Album





















Host ref number: 559968446891