Help my family rebuilding our farm in Vila do Conde, Portugal

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    16/07/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    417

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Manuel and I left London this year to come back home and help my family rebuilding our farm. The Farm is in use, and my brother Andre is a dairy farmer, with the help of my mother Cristina, they maintain it and survive there as best as possible. With the Portuguese crisis, they can't have employees to help on the daily tasks, and the farm looks messy and unloved, it's huge property with loads of potential.
    At the beginning all we need to do is clean it, and relief my brother and my mother of some of their tasks, as they get up at 5am and work until 10pm.

    The place is not a paradise, but that's why we need help, to make it become, we welcome anyone with ideas on how to organize the farm and what can we do with it, anyone that wants to help, we have about 3/4 free double rooms in the house.

    The Farm has cows, goats, horse, chickens, ducks, rabbits, greenhouses with flowers and vegetables. It's situated in the city of Vila do Conde, with beautiful beaches (10 min by bicycle), and it's close to Porto by metro(45min), bus(1hr) or car(15min).

    Come and join us in 2018 if you would like to help transforming it.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    You can help on various tasks:
    - take care of "Dona Isabel" our horse, feeding, cleaning her stable, grooming her, riding her if you know how, help build a fenced field for her to stretch her legs
    - feed and clean Isabel's neighbours the goats
    - take care of the various small gardens throughout the house
    - help on morning and/or evening milking
    - help feeding the cow morning and/or evening
    - help feeding milk to our calves
    - stable cleaning
    - sowing, planting, harvesting, vegetables and flowers
    - selling vegetables in the local artisan markets
    - help organizing my mother's flower workshop
    - help building a fenced area in the field for the cows to walk free
    - help organizing the day to day of the farm
    - suggesting and implementing ideas of possible business to support the farm
    - help transforming the farm into a more environmentally friendly and sustainable farm
    - so many more..

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - Beach is very close by so you can spend all your free time there
    - Cuisine is amazing in the north of Portugal
    - My mother and my grand mother can teach you how to cook traditional dishes
    - Helping us you'll learn along side us how to rebuild a farm and make it successful (hopefully)
    - Learn Portuguese if you would like
    - Learn about Plants and flowers
    - Kiwi pruning
    - flower bouquets and floral art

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The rooms are in our house, so you'll be part of the family, they have double bed, one of the rooms has en suite and they all have wardrobe, you'll eat with us if you like, or if you prefer to cook to yourself we have everything you need, we have a small kitchen and a big kitchen you can use any, but once you taste my grand mother's food, you'll give up on cooking ;)
    You have wi-fi in the house as well (not great, but good enough).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's not many buses around but there's like 1every hour that will take you to Vila do Conde, or we can get you a bicycle for you to explore, you'll get there quicker. Porto is 45 min way by metro which is 10 way by bicycle. Both these cities have plenty to offer you.
    It's great area, if you want to be rural you have it, if you want to go urban you also have it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Greenhouse with future tomatoes
Levi and Iris on one of the parts of the Farm that seriously needs help!
Iris enjoying some cuddles
Future Strawberries, in a part of the farm that needs help
Levi with his stand at the city market, selling all the freshly harvested veggies
Levi and his two loyal companions supporting the strawberry harvest
Dina and her best Friend "Dona Isabel" the horse
Some of us Playing Molkky under the kiwi trees
Dina feeding the calves
All of us at the city market

Host ref number: 539238642621